The junior Worcestershire schools individual table tennis competition was held at St Egwin’s School in Evesham. There was some great play from the youngsters.

U11 Boys: Jack Whittington of St Nicholas Middle School, Pershore proved too strong for Ben Fisher of Blackminster Middle School, Evesham in the final, winning 3-0. Elliott Rosewell of St Egwin’s Middle School, Evesham took 3rd place with a fine 3-2 win over Fraser Cattanach of Blackminster.

Winner: Jack Whittington; Second: Ben Fisher; Third: Elliott Rosewell

U11 Girls: Katie Fisher of Blackminster was the only entrant and therefore was declared champion with a walkover.

U13 Boys: This competition drew 13 entries. Alfie Saunders of Blackminster and Leo Rudge of St Nicholas cruised through the group and knockout stages to meet each other in the final. In a brilliant match that could have gone either way it was Saunders who kept his composure to secure a 3-2 victory.

Ben Resgnit of Stourport High School bt Tom Oadley of the same school 3-1 to take third place.

Winner: Alfie Saunders; Second: Leo Rudge; Third: Tom Oadley

U13 Girls: With Katie Fisher having no opponents to face in her own age group she was allowed her opportunity to take on the older girls in a six-player round-robin format. Ciara Webb of St Egwin’s caused an early upset when she beat one of the favourites Matilda Neale of Blackminster 3-2.

Katie Fisher showed her style with a 3-2 win over Lexi Clarke also of Blackminster. In a fine display full of consistency and power it was Anna Blakey who took the honours, remaining undefeated on the day.

Winner: Anna Blakely; Second: Ciara Webb; Third: Matilda Neale

U11 & U13 Boys combined consolation competition. Tom Allen of Droitwich High bt Klayton Rushton of Stourport High 3-0.

Klayton Rushton of Stourport High won the trophy for ‘Sporting behaviour’ for demonstrating a high standard of play, good manners and spending time to show a much younger player how to play.

In a match of champions to decide the ‘Player of the Tournament’ it was U11 Jack Whittington who took the trophy with a magnificent 3-0 victory over U13 Alfie Saunders.

Anna Blakely
Klayton Rushton