Table Tennis England again kindly hosted the annual meeting of the English branch of the Swaythling Club International on Sunday at the PG Mutual National Championships in Nottingham.

10 members were able to attend the meeting and we were honoured to have Ebby & Di Scholer

in attendance, the current President and Honorary President of the SCI.

The meeting started very early in the day in order to allow everyone to attend other functions and then to go on and watch the finals in the afternoon.

It was reported that the English Branch had one new member, Beverley Godfrey, which takes the total membership to 18. Beverley will be remembered under her maiden name and as one of the Sayer Twins, sister of Gloria Wagener.

It was also reported that it was now possible for members to pay their annual membership fees in sterling and that Table Tennis England will then transfer the money to the SCI Bank Account. This was felt to simplify the payment process for our members and we are grateful to Table Tennis England for agreeing to this arrangement.

The SCI President, Ebby Scholer, was invited to address the meeting and gave some insights to the wider world of the SCI and some details of the next World Veterans’ Championships in Las Vegas in 2018.

During the afternoon finals the SCI Fair Play Award was presented to Tin-Tin Ho by Di and Ebby.

Back row: Alan Cooke, Richard Scruton, Tony Chatwin, Harvey Webb, Jill Parker, Alan Ransome, Jeff Ingber, Nicky Jarvis; Front row: Jose Ransome, Ebby Scholer, Di Scholer, Sandra Deaton. Photo courtesy of Diane Webb