Leicestershire’s Veterans second team just failed to gain promotion from Division 2B in the County Championship.

The team of Eileen Shaler, Andy LeButt, Reza Kiani and Chris Brewer came out of the blocks very positively to defeat a decent Bedfordshire 9-1 in the first of two matches to complete the season.

The final tussle was against Worcestershire, for whom a draw would be enough, while Leics needed to win outright. Worcestershire started well to take the opening two singles before Kiani scored an excellent win against Stephen Horton and then Shaler and Brewer grabbed a mixed doubles to bring the score to 2-2

Two more singles went against the County leaving them needing the remaining four sets to take the title, but Worcestershire did more than enough to hold them off to win 6-4. A very good effort for this Leicestershire team who look to go one better next term.

The Daytime Ladder League was won for the third time in a row by Andy Searle who held off his nearest challenger, Charlie Bateman, by winning the decider 2-1. Meanwhile, John Bowness defeated Chris Woodward 2-1 to make sure of third position.

Click here to view final standings.

The Leicester & District League is now concluded with the remaining matches played, the various promotion and relegation issues already having been established.

One standout performance of those catch-up matches in Division One claimed the “Performance of the Week” when Thringstone’s Trevor Kerry took two maximums. Early in the final week he won three against Electricity’s first team in a 5-5 draw and followed up with another maximum when his team went down 6-4 to runners up, Knighton Park firsts.

Kerry’s scalps against KP were Karen Smith before just getting home in five against Reza Kiani and the highlight being a three-straight success against the Park’s star player, Chris Rogers.

While teams tussle for their ups and downs there is always very good competition for the five positions at the top of the individual averages. Jared Patel stands out as the Division One leader with an unblemished record for Unicorn, echoed by team-mate Lois Peake who, unfortunately for her, did not play the required two-thirds of matches.

Full top threes:

Division One
100   Jared Patel (Unicorn) 53-53
88.9  Chris Rogers (Kn Park) 54-48
83.0  Trevor Kerry (Thringstone) 59-49

Division Two
86.0  Adam Pettitt (Electricity III) 50-43
85.0  John Genovese (Unicorn II) 60-51
81.6  Lucky Obi (Kn Park V) 49-40

Division Three
97.8  Rhys Emery (Arnesby II) 45-44
89.4  Dave Small (Arnesby II) 47-42
83.0  Dave Wagstaff (Arnesby II) 53-44

Division Four
88.9  Himansu Mishra (W Wizards) 54-48
88.2  Zia Malik (Kn Park X) 51-45
84.4  Martin Taylor (Nomads IV) 45-38

Division Five
89.8  Scott Morris (Syston Cas IV) 59-53
86.7  Scott Robinson (Goons II) 60-52
79.2  Steve Harrison (Goons II) 53-42