There was a good entry with contingents from North East, Derbyshire, Yorkshire, Leicester and North Wales travelling to the Select Security Stadium Widnes.

The Referee was Karen Tonge MBE, IR; organiser Ken Tonge and the finals were umpired by George McDonnell, County Umpire from Halton TTC, with other volunteers assisting.

This event was a success for six members of the Halton Talent Squad with Liam Murphy and Ruby Bennett winning the Under-13 Boys’ and Girls’ events. Bennett was No 1 seed following the withdrawal of England No 5 from Halton Niamh Scarborough due to an England selection day. Ruby had a blistered hand, forcing her withdrawal from the cadets but still managed to come out on top with Freya Wynne of Leicester runner-up.

In the Under-13 Girls’ consolation, Megan Smith (St John’s TTC Liverpool) won, beating India Odley (Halton) in the final.

Under-13 Boys’ winner Liam Murphy and runner-up Adam Dennison

Under-13 Boys’ No 2 seed Murphy beat top seed from Garstang, Adam Dennison, in the final, while the Under-13 Boys’ consolation was won by Ibrahim Abdullah (Cheshire) over Liverpool’s Liam Platt.

In the Under-15 Cadet Boys’ Sam Cooper (Derbyshire) beat No 1 seed James Courtney of Halton in a hard-fought semi-final but in the final lost out to Matthew Westworth (Lancashire).

Cadet Boys’ Consolation runner-up Joe Davies and winner Daniel Shafiei

In the Consolation Cadet Boys’ final Daniel Shafiei (Cheshire) beat Joe Davies (Halton), while the Under-18 Junior Boys’ went with seeding with Abhishek Bathula the No 1 seed fromWales beating James Courtney of Halton in the final. The Consolation event was won by Sean Chandler (Lancashire), with James Krassowski (Derbyshire) runner-up.

The Under-11 Boys was won by undefeated Joseph Dennison (Lancashire) with runner-up Ben Mold from Durham and Halton’s Louis Cheung-Turner in third.

The Under-15 Girls’ was won by Amy Mold (Durham) with Milly Hanrahan of Halton runner-up.

Under-15 girls’ winner Amy Mold and runner-up Milly Hanrahan

The next tournament is the Halton 2 star on Sunday 26th November. Click here to enter.

The Awards were presented by Karen Tonge MBE, International Referee and North West region Chairman.

Junior Boys’ Singles (U18)
Winner: Abhishek Bathula (Wales) beat James Courtney (Cheshire) 3-1 (11-8, 11-3, 11-13, 14-12)
Consolation Winner: Sean Chandler (Lancashire) beat James Krassowski (Derbyshire) 3-2 (6-11, 11-7, 11-2, 9-11, 11-8)
Cadet Boys’ Singles (U15)
Winner: Matthew Westworth (Lancashire) beat Sam Cooper (Derbyshire) 3-1 (11-8, 7-11, 11-9, 11-9)
Consolation Winner: Daniel Shafiei (Cheshire) beat Joe Davies (Cheshire) 3-2 (10-12, 11-8, 11-8, 5-11, 11-4)
Cadet Girls’ Singles (U15)
Winner: Amy Mold (Durham) beat Milly Hanrahan (Cheshire) 3-0 (11-5, 11-6, 11-3)
Under 13 Boys’ Singles
Winner: Liam Murphy (Cheshire) beat Adam Dennison (Lancashire) 3-1 (11-8, 7-11, 11-8, 11-9)
Consolation Winner: Ibrahim Abdullah (Cheshire) beat Liam Platt (Lancashire) 3-0 (11-0, 11-1, 11-7)
Under 13 Girls’ Singles
Winner: Ruby Bennett (Cheshire) beat Freya Wynne (Durham) 3-0 (11-9, 11-6, 11-3)
Consolation Winner: Megan Smith (Lancashire) beat India Odley (Cheshire) 3-2 (12-14, 7-11, 11-9, 11-3, 11-6)
Under 11 Boys’ Singles
Winner: Joseph Dennison (Lancashire) beat Ben Mold (Durham) 3-1 (9-11, 11-9, 11-7, 11-7)

Under-13 Girls’ Consolation runner-ip India Odley and winner Megan Smith