The 2015 competition for the Association of English Table Tennis Umpires (AETTU) once again took place at the Draycott and Long Eaton TTC over the weekend of 4-5th July 2015. This is the eighth year of the competition. This year the competition clashed with the European Veteran’s competition and the Heritage Oil Competition. Some of our members who normally play in the Umpires’ competition were involved in the other two competitions. This year there were 23 competitors and 33 players and guests sat down to the evening meal at the Hallmark Hotel in Derby.

A number of new umpires joined the AETTU competition for the first time. Val Murdoch and Alex Murdoch were two of the new competitors. Alex won the O70 event beating Ron Douglas in the Final. Val Murdoch won the Women’s event unopposed after Dot Macfarlane pulled out at the last minute because of illness. Val had a busy weekend playing in a number of events and surprising a number of her opponents with the quality of her play.

The Plate competition was won by John Stalker from Worcestershire who beat John Mackey in the Final.

The 2015 Open competition was won by Dave Griffiths from Lancashire. Dave has now won the Open competition for the last four years. He also won the O50, Hardbat and Doubles Competition with Bruce Lowther. (I think we will have to encourage Paul Drinkhall to become an umpire to give Dave some competition).

President of the AETTU, Tony Chatwin, was due to present the prizes but he was taken ill at the last minute and Chairman of the AETTU, George Tyler presented the trophies to the winners.

Many thanks must also go to the friends and partners of the players who supported the competition and Joyce and Lillian who provided the refreshments during the competition and not forgetting Margaret who acted as Referees Assistant. Thanks also to Draycott and Long Eaton TTC and Brian Savage for arranging a very good venue for the competition.



UNDER 50’s Gary Whyman (Cleveland) Josh Reynolds (Yorks)

OVER 50’s Dave Griffiths (Lancs) Roy Claxton (Scotland)

OVER 60’s Ray Jackson (Lancs) Roy Claxton (Scotland)

OVER 70’s Alex Murdoch (Herts) Ron Douglas (Durham)

LADIES Val Murdock ( Herts)

HARDBAT Dave Griffiths (Lancs) Bruce Lowther ( Cleveland))

DOUBLES Dave Griffiths (Lancs) Bruce Lowther (Cleveland) Josh Reynolds (Yorks) John Stalker (Worc )

CONSOLATION John Stalker (Worc ) John Mackey ( Lincs)

OPEN Dave Griffiths (Lancs) Ray Jackson (Lancs)

Tom Purcell
Hon. Secretary AETTU