There will be 38 teams competing in the 2016/17 season of the Clacton and District League, three more than last season.

The Brotherhood, Nomads and Walton Clubs have all entered one additional team. Once again the League will operate three Divisions.

Division One (12 teams): Brotherhood B and C; Nomads Panthers and Lions; Windsor Condors, Eagles, Hawks, Kestrels and Owls; Walton A and B; Lawford.

Division Two (13 teams): Brotherhood D, E, F, H and I; Nomads Tigers, Jaguars, Bobcats and Pumas; Windsor Harriers, Magpies and Buzzards; Walton C.

Division Three (13 teams): Brotherhood G and J; Nomads Wildcats, Ocelots, Cougars, Lynx, Leopards and Caracals; Windsor Kites, Penguins, Swallows and Ospreys; Walton D.

The season starts on Monday 12th September with the last playing day on Friday 28th April 2017.

The date for the Closed Championships cannot be agreed until early September but it is hoped the tournament will be held during April at the Coastal Academy Sports Hall as in previous seasons.

The Handicapped Singles Tournament will be on Saturday 4th February and the Junior Combination Tournament on Friday 3rd March. The venue for both these events is Windsor’s St James’ Hall.

The Knock-Out Cup Final is scheduled to be played during week commencing 1st May as the final match of the season.

Next year’s Annual General Meeting will take place on Tuesday 6th June.

* Players are reminded of their personal responsibility to register with Table Tennis England. This can be done online, by post or by telephone. The registration fees this year are £12 (senior) and £6 (junior).

Registration must be done by 31st August. Because all results are now recorded using the TT365 system, any player who is not registered by this date will not be recognised by the system and any matches they play declared void.

Any queries regarding registration, or any player who wishes to play but is without a team for next season, should contact League Secretary Lyn White on 01255 425292.