Every now and then a result comes through that really takes your breath away. Hatfield Peverel B, the early leaders in division three of the Chelmsford & District Table Tennis League produced the week’s outstanding performance and arguably the most outstanding display of the season so far when they defeated third-placed Danbury F 10-0.

Dave Fiddeman, Neil Freeman and Gareth Davies were all undefeated as the tried and tested Danbury trio of Dave Marsh, John Robinson and Herbie Smith drew a complete blank. Gareth Davies downed the challenge of John Robinson 3-2 (11-9, 10-12, 11-5, 7-11, 14-12) in the night’s closest encounter.

Hatfield Peverel Captain Neil Freeman commented: “We can’t believe the start we have made to the season – a great all-round team effort.”

Maldon B scored their first win of the season and they did well to beat Danbury H 8-2. Tom Elder and Ev Lucas were both undefeated.

Danbury G were also clear-cut winners and Dan Anderson and Sam Lowman were both undefeated as they beat OCs E 9-1. Anderson had to pull out all the stops to get the better of Nat Ravlic 3-2 (11-4, 11-13, 11-4, 8-11, 15-13).

Galleywood A are the early pace-setters in division two and James Hicks was again on top form as they drew 5-5 with second-placed Hatfield Peverel A. Hicks downed the challenge of all three Hatfield Peverel players – Gary Ward, Peter Brownlow and John Gagg 3-0.

Liberal B are also strong at this level with both Adrian Pitt and Andrew Huckson in their line-up and they both stayed undefeated in their 8-2 win over Danbury C. Without Pitt they weren‘t quite so potent and they lost 7-3 to Danbury D. Steve Buer was the top player in this match, notching up an impressive hat-trick of successes against Robin Armstrong (3-0), Andrew Huckson (3-1) and Paul Lombardi (3-0).

Last year’s champions Danbury A have taken little time to establish themselves at the head of the division one table and they were able to include a reserve – Neil Want – in their line-up as they beat OCs A 9-1. Left- handers Gary Young and Matt Spero both won their three singles for the defending champions, whilst Daniel Berry was on target for the Old Chelmsfordians side. He beat Neil Want 3-0 (12-10, 11-7, 11-8).

Hatfield Peverel C were impressive 10-0 winners over Danbury K in division four. The scoreline may have flattered them slightly as they won all four five-setters, but Trevor Collin, Dave Carter and Bob Garson nevertheless carried all before them. Carter beat Scott Perry 3-2 (11-6, 9-11, 11-7, 8-11, 12-10) in the closest game of the evening.

Danbury J have jumped into second place, courtesy of their 8-2 win over OCs F. Brian Ellis (three wins), Dave Goody (two wins) and Richard Allan (two wins) all played a part in their success.

Writtle Excalibur C came out on top 6-4 after a close match against Danbury L. Steve Siggs was the Writtle Excalibur match-winner on this occasion.
Galleywood B have jumped into second place in division five and with both Mark Glenister and Kamil Lentas in their line-up they beat OCs G 8-2. Nathan Blore chipped in with a 3-2 (11-9, 8-11, 11-4, 9-11, 11-9) win over Mike Morecroft.

Galleywood had to face OCs H without Glenister and the Hatfield Peverel side took full advantage, winning 7-3. Tanish Kotwal won his three singles to give the Old Chelmsfordian side the edge and Lawrence Bartlett picked up two wins. Kotwal downed the challenge of Kamil Lentas 3-1 (11-9, 11-8, 1-11, 11-9) in the night’s top encounter.

Writtle Excalbur E (Brian Steward, Colin Griffiths and David Meah) all won twice in their 7-3 victory over Hatfield Peverel D although they all missed out to Dan Patynski.

Writtle Excalibur D were 6-4 winners over Chelmsford H. Melanie Bonnett won her three singles and she completed her hat-trick with a 3-1 (11-9, 11-6, 7-11, 11-8) victory over Connor Payne.

Highwood (Martin Goddard, Tim Smith and Russell Downton) ran out narrow 6-4 winners over newcomers Anglia Ruskin University. However all three Highwood players lost out to an impressive Pewist Osman.
OCs J (Adam Chalk and Harry Rogers) gave nothing away in the CLICK League where they beat Buttsbury B (Chris Stephens and Harry Hutt) 5-0.