With the Chelmsford & District Table Tennis League season having reached its halfway stage the 12 first division teams will now form two mini divisions and the teams will be looking forward to hearing who their fixtures are for the second half of the season.

The top six teams will make up division 1A whilst teams seven to 12 will form division 1B.

OCs A finished sixth with 57 points after beating Galleywood A 7-3. Paul Lucas and Terry Dowsett won all six singles to ensure they stayed in charge. Gary Brignall beat Dan Berry 3-2 (8-11, 11- 8, 11-8, 11-13, 11-9) in the closest game of the evening.

Galleywood A finished seventh and they played well to beat an under-strength Liberal 9-1. Galleywood won all nine singles but missed out in the doubles when James Hicks and Gary Brignall lost 3-0 (10-12, 7-11, 5-11) to Andrew Huckson and Steve Pennell. The 9-1 scoreline flattered Galleywood as they won all three five-enders. Hicks beat Pennell 11-5, 11-5, 9-11, 5-11, 11-9 whilst Steve Kerns defeated old rival Pennell 8-11, 7-11, 11-5, 11-5, 11-3 and Hicks saw off Robin Armstrong 11-2, 11-7, 6-11, 9-11, 11-2.

Danbury A finished fourth and they ran out 9-1 winners against Hatfield Peverel A. Eric Green and Dave Richardson were both undefeated. Richardson fought back strongly from 2-0 down to beat Gareth Davies 3-2 (9-11, 7-11, 11-9, 14-12, 11-3). Julie Johnson was on target for the losers with a 3-0 (12-10, 11-8, 14-12) victory against Tim Cramphorn.

Danbury B ran out 6-4 winners against Chelmsford B. Standout results here included a fine 3-1 (8-11, 11-6, 11-7, 11-8) win for Ian Whiteside over Waseem Qureshi and an equally impressive 3-1 (11-7, 7-11, 11-7, 11-9) victory for Qureshi over Daniel Young.

The battle for top honours in division 1A looks to be a two way battle between Maldon A (Alex Abbott, Trevor Lloyd, John Poysden and Colin Stallwood) and Chelmsford A (Wal Bada, Casey Cross, Eddie Ogbebor and Ugur Ciclik). Maldon A hold a six-point lead at the halfway stage and it won’t be easy to overhaul them.

It was honours shared in division four between Chelmsford E and Hatfield Peverel C. Nick Duce was unbeaten for the Hatfield Peverel side with wins over Dusan Doszkoty (14-12, 11-6, 11-6), Martin Hiskey (11-7, 11-8, 11-6) and Harry Buckle (11-3, 11-4, 11-9).

Chelmsford Tigers scored a superb 4-1 win over OCs Lions in a top of the table clash in division 1B of the CLICK League. This rearranged match was effectively the Championship decider and Josh Bickles beat Jake Iliffe 3-0 (11-3, 11-5, 12-10) and Josh Peasgood 3-1 (8-11, 11-7, 11-7, 11-7). Bickles, with a 100% record (10 wins out of 10), was the outstanding player in this division and his win over Peasgood was the only defeat that Peasgood suffered.