Danbury A (26 points from four matches) and Chelmsford A (21 points from three matches) are the early leaders in the first division of the Chelmsford & District Table Tennis League.

Danbury A were greatly indebted to Gary Young as they drew 5-5 with Galleywood A. Gary Brignall and Lucy Wang both picked up two wins for Galleywood with Brignall doing well to get the better of Eric Green 3-1 (11-9, 8-11, 11-6, 11-8).

Danbury A were without Young against Liberal A and they did well to win 6-4. Peter Mynard, Eric Green and Steve Whiteley all won twice to counter Paul Davison’s hat-trick for the Liberal side. Whiteley defeated Adam Buxton 3-2 (4-11, 11-7, 11-8, 7-11, 12-10) in the closest game of the evening.

Maldon A were the week‘s big winners. Trevor Lloyd and John Poysden were both undefeated in their 9-1 win over Galleywood A. Gary Brignall showed up well for the losers again and he scored a superb 3-2 (6-11, 4-11, 11-8, 11-7, 11-9) win over Colin Stallwood.

Chelmsford A ran out 8-2 winners over Rawreth A. Eddie Ogbebor and Ryan Gooday both bagged hat-tricks. Gooday impressed by beating Mike Hayes in five (7-11, 11-7, 11-8, 7-11, 11-7).
Writtle Excalibur A lead the way in division two. Ryan Pitt, Lee McHugh and Matthew Brown all won twice against Chelmsford C although they were all beaten by the in-form Julie Johnson. Julie scored a superb trio of wins, beating Lee McHugh (11-3, 6-11, 5-11, 11-9, 11-7) and then Matthew Brown decisively (11-7, 11-7, 11-7) and finally Ryan Pitt (6-11, 1-19, 8-11, 11-5, 11-6).

Danbury C are second although they were held to a draw by OCs C. Daniel Young and Chris Buer both won twice for Danbury whilst Peter Windley picked up two wins for the OCs side. Windley impressed by beating Buer 3-0 (11-9, 11-7, 11-8) although he missed out to Daniel Young 3-2 (11-8, 9-11, 11-7, 11-13, 7-11).

There were two sets of 9-1 winners this week. Danbury B (Neil Want, Glenn Laing and David Gatheral) beat Liberal C. Richard Jennings was on target for the losers with his 3-1 (9-11, 11-7, 11-8, 13-11) victory over David Gatheral.
Chelmsford B (Mark Allaway, Rob Shrimpton and Wiktor Delimat) were equally convincing against OCs B. Reserve David Porter showed up best for the Old Chelmsfordians side by beating Delimat in five ends (11-6, 4-11, 8-11, 11-9, 11-7).

The match between Hatfield Peverel A and Danbury D was evenly fought and Hatfield Peverel shaded it 6-4. Peverel’s Dave Calleja did well to beat Sam Lowman 3-2 (11-5, 8-11, 6-11, 11-9, 11-7).
Maldon B and Hatfield Peverel B are tied on 30 points at the top of division three. They both won 9-1 this week. Maldon’s Ciaran Whelan and Hamish Innes both won their three singles as they powered home against Maldon C. Innes finally pulled clear of Dawn Baldry in the fifth end to seal a 9-11, 10- 12, 13-11, 12-10, 11-6 win.

Hatfield Peverel B were equally convincing against Danbury E. Dave Fiddeman and Gareth Davies both scored hat-tricks. Tim Pulham impressed for the losers with his fine 3-1 (11-8, 6-11, 11-9, 11-7) victory against Neil Freeman.

OCs D ran out 6-4 winners against Hatfield Peverel C although it was Peverel’s Trevor Collin who won his three singles. Collin looked to be in big trouble against Mick Richardson but he turned things round completely to storm home to a 3-2 (10-12, 4-11, 11-3, 11-5, 11-2) victory.

Chelmsford E (Keith Martin, Richard Baxter and Connor Payne) were 8-2 winners against Chelmsford D. Martin and Baxter were both undefeated.
OCs E (31 points) are clear leaders in division four – five points ahead of Danbury G. Nat Ravlic led OCs E to a 7-3 win over Maldon D. Ravlic beat Mervyn Perriman 3-0 (11-2, 12-10, 11-9) and Shirley Carroll 3-1 (11-9, 11-6, 14-16, 11-6) and he completed his hat-trick with a 3-1 (10-12, 11-8, 11-6, 11-7) victory over newcomer Gerry Eames.

OCs F were 6-4 winners against Writtle Excalibur C. Terry Dowsett and Farooq Ahmed both won their three singles for the Old Chelmsfordians side. Writtle’s Dave Moles beat Russell Hall 3-2 (7-11, 11-8, 11-8, 8-11, 11-9) in the closest game of the evening.

Mo Hardy was on top form as Danbury G defeated Danbury J 7-3. It was a vintage display from former League Press Officer Hardy who beat Kevin Willis 3-1 (9-11, 15-13, 18-16, 11-8) and Eamon Hall 3-1 (11-5, 11-6, 8-11, 11-8) and finally Dave Hancox also in four (11-9, 11-9, 8-11, 11-7).
Highwood A made it four wins out of four in division five. Francis Whitbread and Martin Goddard both picked up maximums against Chelmsford J who they beat 8-2. Goddard had to pull out all the stops to get the better of Jamie Dowsett in five (7-11, 11-5, 7-11, 13-11, 11-9) whilst Francis Whitbread was tested by Dowsett before he sneaked home 3-2 (11-7, 9-11, 11-5, 6-11, 11-9).

Chelmsford F are in second place and Ian Austin led them to a 7-3 win over OCs H. He was supported well by new comer Adi Kamma who won twice. Stuart Wintle picked up two wins for the losers.

Chelmsford H ran out narrow 6-4 winners against Hatfield Peverel D. Harry Buckle scored a hat-trick for the Chelmsford side. Buckle beat Richard Drozd 3-2 (11-9, 8-11, 11-8, 11-13, 11-2) to secure his hat-trick of wins.

Galleywood B beat Anglia Ruskin University 7-3. Steve Peacock was undefeated and he impressed by beating Takunga Neruthala 3-2 (11-7, 13-11, 9-11, 10-12, 12-10) in the first game of the evening.

Melanie Bonnett was on good form for Highwood B and she won her three singles against Chelmsford G but it was Chelmsford G who ran out 7-3 winners.
Galleywood C made it four wins out of four in CLICK League – division 1A. Rio Teplizki and Aidan Noguchi were both undefeated in their 5-0 success against Buttsbury Bulldogs. Teplizki defeated Harry Hutt in five ends (7-11, 11-7, 11-13, 11-4, 11-5).

West Maldon were also 5-0 winners. William Moore and Blaydon Farmer gave nothing away against Black Notley. Farmer beat Patrick Sweeney 3-2 (9-11, 11-6, 11-6, 5-11, 11-4) in the closest game of the night.

Danbury Dragons (Conor Hall and Ewan Hynd) beat Buttsbury Beavers 4-1. Ewan Hynd was undefeated. He beat Zach Antoniou 3-1 (6-11, 11-5, 11-9, 14-12) and Dan Slaney 3-0 (12-10, 11-3, 11-4).

Buttsbury Bears (Jason Yeh and Toby Kelly) are in second place and they ran out 5-0 winners over OCs Lions. The OCs Lions team did better against Black Notley and they won 3-2 this time. Frank Heard led the way with two successes and a share in a doubles victory.
Galleywood D lead the way in division 1B of the CLICK League. Vineeth Kamma won twice and Sudheep Kamma once in their 4-1 victory against Buttsbury Beavers. Ben Brown was on target for the losers with his 11-6, 11-7, 11-3 victory against Sudheep Kamma.