In a week of few surprises, it was probably a toss-up between Victor Chan and Adrian Pitt for the best performance in the Braintree Table Tennis League’s second set of matches of the season.

Chan, who was in the second division two years ago and had only a sprinkling of games in division one last season, captured the notable scalps of Alistair Hill and James Mullane in Black Notley B’s 8-2 defeat by Netts A. Hill fell in four games and Mullane in five. Chan also stretched Paul Davison to 17-15 in the first game but could get no further.

Pitt went one better and took all three sets for Liberal B off Rayne A’s formidable trio of Steve Pennell, Ryan Pitt and Ian Whiteside. His wins helped his side to a draw.

League champions Liberal A helped themselves to their second 10-0 win, this time over Sible Hedingham, although Roy Hooper came desperately close to breaking Hedingham’s duck when he stretched Scott Dowsett to five (7-11, 8-11, 13-11, 11-7, 11-9).

Chris Parr’s win over Maria Boulton was Notley A’s only success against Netts B while Brian Riedling’s victory over Paul Lombardi performed a similar function for Rayne C against Rayne B.

In division two Rayne F followed up their win against their own D team by holding their E team to a draw. Dave Marsh, who surprisingly lost the only singles in the previous match, was this time the only one to win all three.

Liberal C scored their second win, 9-1 this time over Felsted RBL B. Arthur Geen’s win over Barry Evans was the one that got away.

Sean Clift was unbeaten for Notley D but could not prevent a 6-4 defeat by Rayne D while Ken Lewis and Richard Kemp took seven sets between them in Nomads’ 7-3 win over Rayne G.

In division three, Notley E had their second 8-2 win, this time over Rayne I – Jamie Brooks again unbeaten – while Netts C’s junior trio of Joe Belsom, Max Plumridge and Kierlan Richards had an excellent 10-0 victory over the experienced Notley G.

Derek Kennard, father of Nikki, made his Braintree League debut for Netts D and duly won his three singles against Notley H, but the home team took the rest.

Brian How, in division two last year, joined Charles Wilkinson in winning three for Rayne H against Rayne J while Liam Ebbs was again unbeaten as Notley I beat the club’s F team 6-4.