Men’s Champion for the 20th time Keith Richardson from Cambridge

The Cambridgeshire Table Tennis Association held their Closed Championships at the Neale Wade Sports Centre in March on Saturday 19th March 2011.

County Association President Keith Richardson became the Men’s Champion for the 20th time. Richardson from Cambridge overcame his long time County colleague Mick Harper in the Men’s final. Harper had reached the final by knocking out newcomer Alex Facey who had previously beaten 2nd seed Wayne Mason. Richardson had reached the final after losing the first leg to Daniel Fielding.

Harper & Richardson did lose out to Wayne Mason and Robert Swift in the Men’s Doubles Final.

Robert Swift, a former Men’s Singles winner playing in the event for the first time in around 25 years, was runner up to Alex Facey in the Veterans event.

Caroline Wright became the Ladies Champion overcoming the challenge of Tracey Sambrook in straight games. Caroline had earlier beaten last season’s winner Helen Arnold. She also joined forces with Wayne Mason to beat Chad Bassett and Helen Arnold in the Mixed Doubles.

Cambridge League Ladies Doubles Champions Tracey Sambrook and Helen Arnold also took the County event, proving too strong for Nga B Q Nguyen and Nutthaporn Sethasathien.

Steve Mason from March proved too strong for Cambridge University mathematics student Ping Teeradej Kittipasorn in the Handicap Singles. Daniel Fielding from the Yaxley club got the better of the fast improving Adam Jepson in the Under 21 Constable Cup, coming back from 2-1 down. He and Ollie Loia won the Junior Doubles event overcoming Max Schwiening and Harris Ryder in straight games.

Jepson won a 5 set thriller, coming back from 2 sets down in a repeat of last season’s the Cadet Boys Singles Final against Harris Ryder.

Shaun Murray secured the Rosebowl for the Restricted Singles with a 5 set win over Ping Teeradej Kittipasorn.

In the Under 21 Keki Mistry Trophy Amy Catlin won a thrilling 12-10 in the 5th set against Nga B Q Nguyen. Amy also overcame Abbie Stacey from March in the Junior Girls final.

Ping Teeradej Kittipasorn combined with Julian Tee to win the Drawn Doubles Final against Mark Lillyman and Thorsten Paarman.

Nearly 290 games were played on the day and the Cambridgeshire Table Tennis Association would like to thank the members of the March Table Tennis League that helped with the organisation, Carol Livermore and Caroline Wright for the catering, Florida Trophies, and all the players and umpires that took part in the event.


Men’s Singles
Keith Richardson bt Mick Harper 11-3, 11-7, 11-5

Ladies Singles
Caroline Wright bt Tracey Sambrook 11-5, 17-15, 11-7

Men’s Doubles
Wayne Mason & Robert Swift bt Keith Richardson & Mick Harper 9-11, 11-5, 11-6, 6-11, 11-8

Ladies Doubles
Helen Arnold & Tracey Sambrook bt Nga B Q Nguyen & Nutthaporn Sethasathien 9-11, 11-8, 11-8, 11-4

Mixed Doubles
Wayne Mason & Caroline Wright bt Chad Bassett & Helen Arnold 11-6, 11-8, 11-9

Veteran’s Singles
Alex Facey bt Robert Swift 11-7, 11-6, 5-11, 10-12, 11-6

Handicap Singles (one game to 41)
Steve Mason (+34) bt Ping Teeradej Kittipassorn (+20) 41-23

Restricted Singles
Shaun Murray bt Ping Teeradej Kittipassorn 11-4, 9-11, 13-15, 11-7, 11-6

Constable Cup (Under 21 Boys)
Daniel Fielding bt Adam Jepson 11-9, 4-11, 13-15, 11-6, 11-6

Keki Mistry (Under 21 Girls)
Amy Catlin bt Nga B Q Nguyen 4-11, 10-12, 11-5, 11-8, 12-10

Junior Boys Singles
Harry Davies bt Harris Ryder 9-11, 11-5, 14-12, 9-11, 11-8

Junior Girls Singles
Amy Catlin bt Abbie Stacey 5-11, 12-10, 11-2, 11-3

Junior Doubles
Daniel Fielding & Ollie Loia bt Harris Ryder & Max Schwiening 11-5, 11-9, 11-7

Cadet Boys Singles
Adam Jepson bt Harris Ryder 4-11, 9-11, 11-9, 11-5, 11-5

Cadet Girls Singles
Abbie Stacey (unopposed)

Drawn Doubles
Julian Tee & Ping Teeradej Kittipassorn bt Thorsten Paarman & Mark Lillyman 11-3, 11-13, 11-6, 11-9