Yorkshire’s Shayan Siraj and Jasmin Wong dominated the 50th Tees Active Stockton on Tees Junior 4 Star Championships at Thornaby Pavilion.

From the third seed position, Siraj won the Junior Boys’ Singles, beating the visitor from Germany, Timothy Franke, by 3-1 in the final.

Siraj came through the top half of the draw which saw him defeat Josh Weatherby of Durham, Joe Clark from Cleveland and Ethan Walsh of Hertfordshire all by 3-1. The top seed in that half, Joseph Hee of Kent, was beaten by Walsh 11-7 in the decider in the quarter-finals. Hee had beaten the second seed Sam Kwan in straight sets. Kwan was in that half of the draw due to his loss in the groups to Franke.

In the bottom half of the draw, Franke beat Johnny Heslop of Yorkshire 3-1, Amirul Hussain of Lancashire in straight games and Israel Awolaja from Middlesex 3-1.

Junior Girls’ winner Jasmin Wong, second left, and runner-up Sophie Barlow with the Mayor of Stockton on Tees, Councillor Maurice Perry, and Chairman of the Cleveland Table Tennis Association, Colin Davison

Jasmin Wong won three titles. In addition to the Junior Girls’ Singles, Wong won the Cadet Girls’ Singles and the Team event for Ackworth School with her partner Ruby Chan.

In the Junior Girls Singles the second seed Wong beat Tiana Dennison of Essex 3-0, Chan 3-1 and then in the final defeated Cleveland’s Sophie Barlow by 3-1. Barlow, who was unseeded, came through the top half of the draw with a victory over Anais O’Connor of Cheshire in straight games. Barlow also beat Darcie Proud from Lincolnshire in the semi-finals 3-1.

Amirul Hussain, Cadet Boys’ champion

The Cadet Boys’ Singles saw a victory from Lancashire’s Amirul Hussain, who also was part of the team from Ackworth School that won the Cadet Boys’ Team event where he was partnered by Jamie Liu of Berkshire.

Hussain was the third seed in the Cadet Boys’ Singles. He reached the final by gaining revenge over Thomas Rayner of Durham 3-0 in the quarter-finals. He beat his Ackworth School team mate Liu by 3-0 in the semi.

The final was a close affair with Hussain winning 11-7 in the fifth against the top seed, Choong Wah Yu of Lancashire. In the top half of the draw Choong Wah Yu reached the final with straight wins against Peter Smallcombe of Durham and Weatherby, both in straight games.

In the Cadet Girls’ Singles there was another victory for Wong as she beat Proud in straight games in the semi-final and her Ackworth School team-mate Chan by 3-1 in the final.

Ben Piggott, winner of the Under-13 Boys’ Singles

The Under-13 Boys’ Singles was won by Cleveland’s Ben Piggott, who won the title without dropping a game. He beat Lewis Ellams of South Yorkshire in the semis and Toby Ellis of Lancashire in the final. Ellis beat the German visitor Vincent Kazuch by 3-2 in the semi-final.

Under-13 Girls’ Singles winner Choong Hang Yang receiving her award from England star Karina Le Fevre

The Under-13 Girls’ winner was Choong Hang Ying of Lancashire who beat Amy Marriott from South Yorkshire 3-1 in the final. Choong reached the final by beating Niamh Scarborough of Lancashire in straight games in the semi, whilst Marriott defeated the unseeded Rebecca Savage of Durham 11-4 in the fifth.

Grade 1 Boys’ Singles winner was the defender Sam Wilson of Northampton who excelled to beat Lancashire’s Choong in straight games in the final. Choong had beaten Jamie Liu in his semi-final. Wilson beat Rhys Davies of Lancashire by 3-1 in the semi-final and fourth seed Danny Bajwa of Scotland in straight games in the quarters. Davies defeated Weatherby 3-2 in his quarter final.

Winners of the Band 1 event Rana Rassem and Sam Wilson

The Grade 1 Girls’ Singles was won by Durham’s Rana Rassem who won a very close final against Tiana Dennison of Essex 11-9 in the decider. Rassem beat Lois Perryman from Kent in straight games in the semi whilst Dennison defeated Proud, also by the same score, in the quarters.

The Junior Boys’ team event was won by the Cliffedale Chandlers who beat the BATTS in the final. Cliffedale were represented by Joe Clark (Cleveland), Shayan Siraj (Yorkshire) and Ethan Chapman (Scotland) and proved to be the strongest team only losing set set on the way to take the title when they beat the Granworth team of Sam Chesterman and Israel Awolaja in the semi-final.

Junior Team winners Clifford Chandlers, from left, Joe Clark, Ethan Chapman, Shayan Siraj with coach Gavin Evans

The Girls’ team event was won by Ackworth School who beat Fusion Two 3-0 in the final. The Ackworth School team of Chan and Wong went through the competition with a loss of only one set against Drumchapel. Chan was beaten by Charlotte Weatherby of Durham at 11-9 in the decider.

The Cadet Boys’ Team event was also won by Ackworth School 3-2, after a very tight final against Ormesby. Rayner excelled in this match by beating Hussain 11-2 in the fifth and Liu by 3-1. The key match was the doubles and was won by the Ackworth School pair at 11-8 in the decider.

Ackworth School beat St Mary’s B from Hull 3-0 in the semi-final whilst Ormesby had a very tight match against St Mary’s A Hull 3-2 in their semi-final. In this match Che Colbourne (Yorkshire) did well to win both of his singles while Piggott won the vital deciding set by beating Lennon Maughan of Yorkshire.

The main prizes were presented by the Mayor of Stockton, Councillor Maurice Perry and by the Chairman of the Cleveland Table Tennis Association, Colin Davison.


Junior Boys Singles
Shayan Siraj (Yorkshire) beat Timothy Franke (Germany) 10, -6, 6, 8
Junior Girls Singles
Jasmin Wong (Yorkshire) beat Sophie Barlow (Cleveland) 5, -9, 4, 9
Cadet Boy’s Singles
Amirul Hussain (Lancashire) beat Choong Wah (Lancashire) 9, -7, 3 -7, 7
Cadet Girl’s Singles
Jasmin Wong (Yorkshire) beat Ruby Chan (Yorkshire) -5, 6, 8, 8
Under 13 Boy’s Singles
Ben Piggott (Cleveland) beat Toby Ellis (Lancashire) 5, 7, 4
Under 13 Girl’s Singles
Choong Hang Ying (Lancashire) beat Amy Marriott (South Yorkshire) 7, 6, -2, 11
Grade 1 Boy’s Singles
Sam Wilson (Northampton) beat Choong Wah Yu (Lancashire) 9, 5, 5
Grade 1 Girl’s Singles
Rana Rassem (Durham) beat Tiana Dennison (Essex) 12, -9, -5, 8, 9
Junior Boys Team Final
Cliffedale Chandlers, Joe Clark (Cleveland), Shayan Siraj (Yorkshire) and Ethan Chapman (Scotland) beat BATTS James Smith (Kent), Ethan Walsh (Herefordshire) 3-0
Cadet Boys Team Final
Ackworth Amirul Hussain (Lancashire), Jamie Liu (Berkshire) beat Ormesby Benjamin Piggott (Cleveland) and Thomas Rayner (Durham), 3-2
Junior Girls Team Final
Ackworth School Ruby Chan (Yorkshire), Jasmin Wong (Yorkshire) beat Fusion 2 Frederica Bonato (Middlesex), Lois Perryman (Kent) 3-0