Eva Wang will aim to defend her Under-19 Girls’ title at the Butterfly Schools’ Individual Championships in Wolverhampton this weekend.

A total of 326 youngsters will compete across four age groups and both boys’ and girls’ events.

Roedean School pupil Wang is top seed in the event and will fancy her chances of a repeat as last year’s beaten finalist, Lois Peake, is not competing.

Zahna Hall, Beth Farnworth and Letitia McMullan are the other top seeds – McMullan stepping up from the Under-16 event, which she won last year.

Also present are last year’s Under-13 Girls finalists – champion Gauri Duhan and runner-up Charlotte Bardsley – who both move up an age group to Under-16.

Indeed, a repeat of their final match last year is on the cards as Bardsley is the No 1 seed, immediately ahead of Duhan. Isabelle Joubeily and Sophie Barlow are next in the rankings, while the field also includes last year’s beaten finalist, Charlotte Boston.

Ruby Chan, the Under-11 Girls’ champion from 2015, is in the Under-13 field this time around, as is the beaten finalist Scarlett O’Neil, who reversed that result in this year’s Under-12 National Cup.

Jasmin Wong, part of the South Hunsley squad which won the Under-13 Team trophy last week, is the top seed at that level, with Amelia Chan, Katie Holt and Danielle Kelly also highly rated.

Sophie Chiang heads the seedings in the Under-11 Girls’ event, ahead of Alan Mansfield.

In the boys’ competitions, there are no defending champions. Looking to take the Under-19 crown, won last year by Tom Jarvis, will be top seeds Billy Forster, James Smith, James Hobson and Joe Pilkington.

Alex Ramsden will be looking to add to his impressive collection of titles as top seed in the Under-16 section, with Matt Leete, Naphat Boonyaprapa and Cheong Kwan next in the pecking order.

The Under-11 Boys’ runner-up from last year, Josh Weatherby, steps up to Under-13 where he will be second seed behind Jamie Liu.

Also in the field is last year’s beaten finalist at this age group, Louis Moyes, who is seeded third. David Gofton completes the top seeds.

Top seed in the Under-11 Boys is Naphong Boonyaprapa, with Rhys Davies second, Nikit Sajiv third and Felix Thomis fourth.

The action gets under way at 9am at the Aldersley Leisure Village and a report will appear here at the end of the day’s play.