A total of 70 players took part in the Horsham Spinners 2 Star on November 23. Events held were Under-10, U11, U12, U13, U15 & U18. Felix Thomis (Bk) & Aadil Anand both excelled by winning two age groups each – Thomis won the U10s & the U11s, while Anand won the U12s & the U13s.


The under-10 medallists

This was a round-robin of six players. Thomis carried all before him, but was extended to five sets by third-placed Arthur Bracken (K). Harry Filson (Sx-Horsham Spinners TTC) came second, not losing an end in his four victories. Bertie Kelly (So) was fourth & Jeremy Mencer (Mi) was fifth.


The top three in the under-11s competition

This was two groups of five players. No 2 seed Thomis suffered a shock defeat to Horsham Spinners player, Ollie Michell. However Michell lost to Alana Mansfield (E) and so there was a three-way count back. Mansfield won the group, with Thomis in second place. In Group 1 the No 1 seed, Nikit Sajiv (Sy) won and Kelly came second.

Interestingly, in the semi-finals both group runners-up prevailed over the group winners, with Thomis defeating Sajiv 17-15 in the decider and Kelly knocking out Mansfield, having lost the first two games. The final also went to five, with Thomis coming through to win. Sajiv beat Mansfield for the bronze medal. Mencer beat Michell in the consolation final.


The under-12s top three

This event contained 14 players. Top seed Anand won his group and beat Fraser Kent (K) and William McCarthy (K) on his way to the final. Second seed Benjamin Mencer (Mi) beat Charlie Graham-Adams (Sx-Horsham Spinners TTC) and Johan Wahlgren (Ox) in getting to the same stage. Anand won the final in straight sets. Wahlgren won the bronze by virtue of beating McCarthy. Mansfield beat Daniel Zeffie (E) in the consolation final in the fifth set.


The top three under-13s

There were 15 entrants in this category. The same two players were seeded one and two for this event as in the U12s and again both reached the final. Anand defeated Wiki Brewka (Sx-Littlehampton Academy TTC) and Jamie Watkin-Rees (Mi) to get there and Mencer knocked out Kent and Casey Mansfield (E).

The final had the same result as the U12s final with Anand too strong for Mencer. Mansfield won the bronze medal match. William Michell (Sx-Horsham Spinners TTC) lost 12-10 in the fifth to Robert Pelc (Sy) in the consolation final, despite having led 10-6.


The medallists in the under-15 section

U15s and U18s both had a large entry of 28 players. Top seed Erik Wahlgren (Ox) had little trouble in winning the event, ending the hopes of Milan Sajiv (Sy), Billy Keegan (Sx-Brighton City TTC), Jack Stockdale (E) and George Long (Mi) in the final.

Third seed Long had defeated Casey Mansfield, Vitor Marquiori (Sy) and Kieran Gray (Sx-Horsham Spinners TTC) in reaching the final. Gray had knocked out Zach Martillo (Bd), the No 2 seed in Round 1 by 11-9 in the fifth.

Luke Gallagher (Sx-Warden Park TTC) also had a good run, overcoming fourth seed Alistair Smith (Sx-MMJ East Grinstead TTC) and then only losing in the fifth set to third seed Stockdale. Gray beat Stockdale in the decider for the bronze medal. Louis Jones (E) beat Ellis Crockford (Sx-Arundel TTC) in the consolation final.


The under-18 medallists

Top seed Kleber Silva (E) won the U18s, beating Ollie Guile (Sx-Brighton City TTC), Mateusz Mikosz (Mi) and Gus Thomis (Bk) in the final. He was extended to five sets by Mikosz, but the final was in four sets. Third seed Thomis had put paid to Long, Quentin Kwan (He), and second seed Lucas Papantoniou (Mi) in getting to the final. Papantoniou beat Mikosz 3-2 in the third place play-off. Scott Covey (Sx-Horsham TTC) had a good win over fifth seed Richard Pelc (Sy) and Kwan had knocked out sixth seed Erik Wahlgren. Marquiori won the third place match with an 11-8 in the fifth set win over James Arnold (Sx-Horsham Spinners TTC).

Please note that the next two Horsham Spinners 2 Star events are on 25th January 2015 & 22nd February 2015 and you can access the entry forms below:


Summary of results

1st: Felix Thomis (Bk)
2nd: Harry Filson (Sx)
3rd: Arthur Bracken (K)

1st: Felix Thomis (Bk)
2nd: Bertie Kelly (So)
3rd: Nikit Sajiv (Sy)
Consolation winner: Jerry Mencer (Mi)
Consolation runner-up: Ollie Michell (Sx)

1st: Aadil Anand (Mi)
2nd: Benjamin Mencer (Mi)
3rd: Johan Wahlgren (Ox)
Consolation winner: Alana Mansfield (E)
Consolation runner-up: Daniel Zeffie (E)

1st: Aadil Anand (Mi)
2nd: Benjamin Mencer (Mi)
3rd: Casey Mansfield (E)
Consolation winner: Robert Pelc (Sy)
Consolation runner-up: Will Michell (Sx)

1st: Erik Wahlgren (Ox)
2nd: George Long (Mi)
3rd: Kieran Gray (Sx)
Consolation winner: Louis Jones (E)
Consolation runner-up: Ellis Crockford (Sx)

1st: Kleber Silva (E)
2nd: Gus Thomis (Bk)
3rd: Lucas Papantoniou (Mi)
Consolation winner: Vitor Marquiori (Sy)
Consolation runner-up: James Arnold (Sx)

Rory Scott
January 5, 2015