Sandra Deaton

Table Tennis England chair Sandra Deaton has been elected to head up a key European Table Tennis Union committee.

Sandra will chair the Youth Committee and is one of several members of the Table Tennis England family chosen to sit on an ETTU committee.

The others are our Deputy Chair Susie Hughes (Veterans Committee), Karen Tonge (Umpires & Referees Committee), Stuart Sherlock (Technical Committee), Peter Taylor (Para TT Committee) and Malcolm Macfarlane (Ranking Committee).

In addition, Table Tennis England Board member Andrew Nixon was voted on to the Justice Board. Appointments are for a two-year cycle to 2016.

Sandra said of her appointment: “I’m delighted to be elected as the Chairperson of the European Table Tennis Union Youth Committee.

“The Youth Committee’s responsibility is to support the delivery of all the European Youth Competitions. It’s a very important and significant group with a membership of 13 from a spectrum of representation across many European member associations.

“I’m honoured to be given this role and sincerely thank Table Tennis England for the nomination and the ETTU President Ronald Kramer and his executive board for their confidence.

“Our relationship with the ETTU is very important and an integral part of our talent and performance strategy.”