Maldon A have won the Chelmsford & District Table Tennis League first division by beating Elmtree Excalibur 9-1, a result that enables them to leapfrog over long-time leaders Bocking A by one point. Maldon were without their top player Neil Charles but they fought for every single point, aware that it would take a monumental 9-1 victory to overhaul Bocking. Alex Abbott and Paul Sayer were both undefeated whilst Minda Sinkus won twice. Paul Sayer was involved in two thrillers. He beat Gary Baker 8-11, 10-12, 11-8, 11-7, 13-11 and Gary Young 11-7, 3-11, 4-11, 11-9, 11-9. Alex Abbott, who is showing an ever increasing return to his very best form after a 20 year absence from the Sport was the “Maldon Strong-man“. He beat Gary Young 13-11, 12-10, 9-11, 11-8 and Gary Baker and Nigel Lamb both 3-0. Maldon B finished their programme with a 6-4 win over Rawreth. Alex Abbott was again their best player. He won his three singles which included a 3-1 victory over George Reeevs, his conqueror in the Over 50 Singles Final in the M&G Investments Chelmsford Closed Championships.

Danbury D completed their programme with a convincing 8-2 victory over Danbury C in division three. Peter Hance scored a hat-trick whilst Herbie Smith and Dave Marsh both won twice.

Chelmsford D (Gordon Fairchild, Robert Shrimpton and Dave Parker) were 8-2 winners over Writtle C in division four. Shrimpton and Parker were both undefeated. Parker beat Brian Steward 11-6, 11-7, 8-11, 9-11, 11-9 in the closest game of the night.

The division five match between Danbury J and ECC F finished all square. ECC’s Peter Sun was the best player on the night winning his three singles plus the doubles. Mohammed Mohseni played his part by beating Trevor Palmer 11-3, 7-11, 12-10, 8-11, 11-9.

Writtle E completed their CLICK League fixtures with a  4-1 victory over Black Notley. Peter Windley remained undefeated whilst David Meah came up trumps against Lee Rose winning by the unusual scoreline of 6-11, 11-3, 5-11, 11-1, 13-11.

Chelmsford A (Matt Davis, Chris Denyer and Sarah Austin) fought their way through to the 6-Down Knock Out Cup Semi-Final by beating Writtle 6-3. Close games were the order of the day and Writtle scored three successive last gasp wins. Chris Denyer beat Martin Goddard 11-7, 6-11, 11-6, 6-11, 11-8 and Sarah Austin defeated Russell Downton  11-13, 11-8, 9-11, 12-10, 11-8. With the
scores poised at 2-2 Matt Davis and Chris Denyer edged out Martin Goddard and Kevin Barber 13-11, 11-6, 6-11, 7-11, 11-9.

ECC (Steve Joslin, Steve Kerns and Lucy Wang) – the holders made it through to the Semi-Final of the Open KO Cup, beating Old Chelmsfordians 5-0 whilst in the Veterans KO Cup – ECC (represented by Steve Kerns, David Evans and Lucy Wang) beat the Old Chelmsfordians Veterans side 5-0.

A strong Chelmsford B side (Adrian Pitt, Julie Vansertima and Alastair Piper) beat Hatfield Peverel A in the Two-Down Knock-Out Cup. Alsatair Piper played his part with two hard-fought wins. He beat John Webber (9-11, 6-11, 11-9, 11-9, 11-6) and John Parodi (14-12, 8-11, 11-8, 9-11, 11-8). Third division Elmtree Excalibur overpowered second division Chelmsford C 7-1. Phil Smith,
Richard Hiskey and Mark Smith all stayed undefeated in their singles.

In the Four-Down Knock Out Cup Chelmsford A beat Writtle A7-2. Frank Neill carried a lone flag for Writtle. He beat both John Barrett and Dave Parker.

Steve Kerns
Press & Publicity Officer
Chelmsford & District Table Tennis League