Louis Moyes receiving the 2014 Butterfly Schools' Individual Championship Trophy from the Chairman of ESTTA, John Blackband.

English Schools’ Table Tennis has announced a strong squad to play in the British Primary Schools’ International Championships.

The experienced boy’s team will be co-led by Jamie Liu (The Hill Primary School, Reading) who played in the 2014 winning team and Louis Moyes (Framlington Earl High School, Norwich), the current Butterfly Schools’ National Individual Under-11 champion.

They will be supported by highly ranked Joshua Weatherby (Fulwell Junior School, Sunderland) and Amirul Hussain (Greenacres Primary School, Oldham). To retain their title they will have to beat teams from Guernsey, Ireland, Isle of Man, Jersey, Scotland and Wales.

Scarlett O’Neill (Fair Community Primary School, Gillingham) is joined by Ruby Chan (Western Primary School, Harrogate), Helena Dicken (Newhall Community Junior School, Swadlincote) and Amy Marriott (Dale Primary School, Derby) to form the girls’ team attempting to recover the crown of British Primary International champions from current holders Ireland.

The teams are supported by Gail Johns and Kate Hughes as non-playing captains. The event is to be held at St Bede’s RC High School, Blackburn from April 10-12, 2015.

John Arnold MBE
February 26, 2015