Nomin Baasan and Masahiro Takano won two titles on the day and the destination of the overall Banded titles became clear on day one of the London Grand Prix in Redbridge.

Emily Bolton and Callum Evans were the overall Band 1 champions as the eight-venue Grand Prix series came to an end.

With 32 tables, it was a busy day which ran from 9am to 10.15pm, with plenty of excitement as players tussled for success on the day and in the overall series, which began in Liverpool in August.

Click here to see the complete final standings in all Bands

Men’s Band 1

Winner Romain Gaspar (left) and runner-up Ethan Walsh

Belgium’s Romain Gaspar defeated Ethan Walsh 3-1 (8-11, 11-3, 11-8, 11-7) after both had done it the hard way to get to the final.

Both needed five games in the quarter-finals and the semis, with Walsh coming from 2-1 down on both occasions – first against Lorestas Trumpauskas, who he beat 10-12, 11-8, 6-11, 11-7, 11-8 and then against James Smith, where he prevailed 11-7, 8-11, 12-14, 13-11, 11-3.

Gaspar had a good tussle with Sam Mabey in the quarter-finals, coming through 11-8, 11-5, 4-11, 17-19, 11-9 and went on to defeat Shayan Siraj 9-11, 11-8, 15-13, 6-11, 13-11 in the last four.

Overall, Wales’ Callum Evans could not be caught at the top despite going out to Siraj in the first round. His nearest challenger, Niall Cameron, went out in the groups.

Overall final positions: 1 Callum Evans, 2 Niall Cameron, 3 James Hobson, 4 Adam Jepson, 5 Sam Mabey

Women’s Band 1

Winner Emily Bolton (right) and runner-up Mollie Patterson

Emily Bolton defeated Mollie Patterson 3-1 (3-11, 13-11, 11-5, 11-9) in the final to climb above her opponent and take the overall title.

It was a reversal of the result in the group stage, when Patterson won 3-1 but still went through as runner-up behind Bolton, as they were involved in a three-way countback with Elena Todirca.

Top seed Bolton needed five games in the quarter-finals against Kornelia Jonsson, coming from behind to win it 3-2 (9-11, 11-3, 5-11, 11-6, 11-2) and she then defeated Sanne De Hoop in four in the semi-finals.

Patterson beat Jacintha De Hoop 3-1 in the quarters and Yolanda King, also in four, in the semis.

In the final reckoning, Bolton won the Band by three points.

Overall final positions: 1 Emily Bolton, 2 Mollie Patterson, 3 Yolanda King, 4 Paulina Orzechowska, 5 Beth Richards

Men’s Band 2

Winner Shayan Siraj (left) and runner-up Alex Gillen

Shayan Siraj won on the day and Finn Morgan-Bayliss got above Zak Cantor to take the overall title.

Siraj’s opponent in the final was Alex Gillen from Ireland, and it went the distance before Siraj took it 3-2 (4-11, 11-8, 4-11, 11-8, 11-9).

Siraj had overcome Morgan-Bayliss in the semi-finals, but that run was enough for Morgan-Bayliss – the Band 3 overall champion last year – to upgrade to Band 2. Cantor, who led going into the event, went out in the groups.

Gillen came through the bottom half of the draw, overcoming Ruan Greyling of the Netherlands in the semi-finals.

Overall final positions: 1 Finn Morgan-Bayliss, 2 Zak Cantor, 3 Carl Baldry, 4 Adam Jepson, 5 Zoltan Hosszu

Women’s Band 2

Patricia Ianau (left) and Grace Clement

Patricia Ianau was 3-0 winner over Grace Clement in the final to take the title on the day – the scoreline 5, 9, 5.

Ianau had beaten Mollie Patterson 3-1 (11-4, 11-3, 9-11, 11-6) in the semi-finals, though Patterson still claimed the overall title, having banked enough points at earlier events to mean she could not be caught in London.

Clement defeated Mille Rogove 3-1 (12-10, 11-7, 6-11, 11-7) in the other semi-final and the points she picked up saw her move into third place in the overall standings.

Overall final positions: 1 Mollie Patterson, 2 Beth Richards, 3 Grace Clement, 4 Raquel Sao Pedro, 5= Natalia Ianau, Paulina Orzechowska

Men’s Band 3

Alex Gillen (left) and Joe Walker

Band 2 runner-up Alex Gillen went one better as he defeated Joe Walker 3-0 (12-10, 11-6, 11-6) to win the biggest band of the day.

He earned his place in the final by defeating Rory Scott 3-1 (12-10, 11-9, 14-16, 11-5) in the semi-finals, while Walker booked his final berth with 3-1 (11-13, 11-6, 11-8, 11-5) victory over Valerio Bucci in the bottom half.

Scott was able to move into second place in the overall standings by virtue of his run to the semis, but Joseph Goss ensured overall victory by making it to the last 16.

Overall final positions: 1 Joseph Goss, 2 Rory Scott, 3 Carl Baldry, 4 Sam Wilson, 5 Shaun Ellis

Women’s Band 3

Nomin Baasan (left) and Xiaoman Ji

Nomin Baasan of Sweden won her second title of the day by defeating Xiaoman Ji 3-1 (11-7, 11-9, 9-11, 11-8) in the final.

She was earlier tested by Lara Whitton in the semis, coming through four games 3-1 (12-10, 6-11, 12-10, 13-11).

Ji also needed four, against overall champion Raquel Sao Pedro, the scoreline 11-1, 7-11, 11-6, 11-4).

Sao Pedro had taken over top spot when she went further into the competition than Natalia Ianau, who was beaten 3-2 (7-11, 11-5, 6-11, 11-5, 11-1) in the quarters by Whitton.

Overall final positions: 1 Raquel Sao Pedro 2 Natalia Ianau, 3 Beth Richards, 4 Paulina Orzechowska, 5 Grace Clement

Men’s Band 4

Art McLaughlin (left) and Ugur Saglik

Art McLaughlin of Ireland prevailed 3-0 (11-6, 11-6, 11-9) against Ugur Saglik to take the title on the day, while Zak Cantor was the overall winner having claimed sufficient points at earlier events.

Pawel Orzechowski had a chance to claim the overall crown by reaching the latter stages, but he went out in the groups.

Overall final positions: 1 Zak Cantor, 2 Pawel Orzechowski, 3 Joseph Goss, 4 Sam Wilson, 5 Fraser Riley

Women’s Band 4

Runner-up Swetha Khatri (left) and winner Nomin Baasan receive their trophies from Table Tennis England Board member Kelly Skeggs

Nomin Baasan’s first title came in Band 4 as she defeated Swetha Katri in three straight (6, 8, 8).

Raquel Sao Pedro was the overall champion as she ended up with a Band 3 and Band 4 double, though Katri was top of the standings – but having played only three main Grand Prix events rather than the required four.

Overall final positions: 1 Raquel Sao Pedro, 2 Lucy Page, 3 Grace Clement

Men’s Band 5

Masahiro Takano (left) and Cheuk Min Ng

Masahiro Takano won a five-set tussle with Cheuk Him Ng 3-2 (13-11, 11-13, 5-11, 11-4, 11-8) to win the title on the day.

It made it two wins from two appearances for Japan’s Takano, who also won in Nottingham.

He topped the standings but with only two appearances was not eligible for the prizemoney. Michael Kowalewski went out in the groups but had enough points in the bank to assure himself of the overall title.

Overall final positions: 1 Michael Kowalewski, 2 Mihnea Dascalu, 3 Daniel Kerr, 4 Sam Wilson, 5 Vadym Krevs

Men’s Band 6

Winner Masahiro Takano and runner-up Chris Beckley

As it was in Band 5, so it was in Band 6 as Masahiro Takano won the title to add to Nottingham success and top the overall standings – but without meeting the eligibility criteria to lift the title.

Chris Beckley was the beaten finalist and the score was 3-0 (11-4, 11-8, 11-1).

Joseph Sheppard was the overall winner, while Helmuth Osborne finished second thanks to his run to the quarter-finals here.

Overall final positions: 1 Joseph Sheppard, 2 Helmuth Osborne, 3 Mihnea Dascalu, 4 Michael Kowalewski, 5 Yury Zhelabouskiy