A full entry of 29 players contested the Second Jarvis Sports Horsham Spinners Cadet Banded 1 Star and Circuit tournament.

The format was five Bands of six players (although one player from the circuit didn’t show up), three bands in the 1 Star event and two bands for the circuit (non-ranking) event.

Players who entered the circuit were mostly at a lower level than the 1 Star players. All bands were round-robin groups, with all playing all and each player getting five matches (except in circuit Band B, which was a group of five).

Owen Brown (Sx-Horsham Spinners TTC) again won the Band 1 event, but went one better than last time, winning all five of his matches and getting revenge wins over both Will Michell (Sx-Horsham Spinners TTC), to whom he had almost always lost to in five sets and Alejandro Ito-Aramendia (Sy). Another Horsham Spinners player, Ed Cozens won the Band B.

1 Star Band 1

Seeded at No 1 again, Brown again won the Band 1, winning three of his five matches in the deciding fifth set vs Angus Norman (Sy), Ito-Aramendia and Jon-Vai Chung (Sy). Against Chung he did well to come back from 7-10 down the fifth to win 12-10. He beat club rival Michell and good friend Jodie Morris (Sx-Brighton City TTC) both 3-0.

Michell and Chung both won three matches, but since Michell won the encounter between them (3-2), he got the silver medal. Ito-Aramendia & Norman both won twice, but Alejandro finished fourth above Angus, as he beat him 3-2. Norman had also lost 3-2 to Chung. Morris was sixth.

1 Star Band 2

Cozens, who had finished bottom of Band 1 last time, was seeded No 1 for the Band 2 this time and did claim the gold medal. However, he won in a two-way countback with John Strang (Sx-Warden Park TTC), whom he beat 3-2. They had both won four matches each, Strang having overcome William Avery (Av) from two sets down.

Henry Maric-Murray (Sy) was the player to beat Cozens and did so 11-9 in the fifth set, despite Cozens having opened up a two set to love lead and having had a number of match points in the fourth set. Maric-Murray and Avery both had three wins, but Avery won the match between them and so finished third. Justin Lam (Sy) came fifth with a 3-0 win over Finn Holder (Sx-Brighton City TTC), who ended up sixth.

1 Star Band 3

Medals in Band 3 were won by two unranked players. Emilio Calcada (Sy) playing in his first ever tournament, won four matches out of five. This was emulated by Eddie Pullen (Sx-Lancing TTC), but since Calcada beat Pullen (3-0), he got the gold and Pullen got the silver.

Eric Correa (Sy) beat his Dulwich TTC club mate in five ends, as well as beating Freddie Marchant in five and Isaac Egginton in three and thus finished third. Rocco Martinez-Paoli (Sy) beat Marchant and Correa both in fourth set to finish fourth, while Egginton beat Marchant in three for fifth place.

Circuit Band A

This was a group of five players, with one player having withdrawn. Juan Cordova (Sy) won all four of his matches, just conceding two ends, both of which were to his brother Danner.

Akramul Islam (Sy) won thrice (all 3-0) and thus got the silver medal. Danner came third with two wins, while fourth and fifth places were decided by a close encounter of the fifth kind in which Jayden Leonnard (Sx-Arundel TTC) defeated Tom Pearson (Sx-Horsham Spinners TTC).

Circuit Band B

Franklin Almonte (Sy) won all five of his matches, only dropping one end to club =mate Jherson Nogales (Sy). Silver went to Rylie Leonnard (Sx-Arundel TTC), who won four matches. Leonnard beat both Nogales and Lino Calcada in the deciding fifth end.

Third place went to Calcada with three wins, who narrowly overcame Ben Aylward (Sx-Arundel TTC) 12-10 in the fifth. Fourth-placed James High (Sx-Horsham Spinners TTC) acquitted himself very well, with two good wins over Nogales 11-9 in the fifth and over Aylward 3-1. Nogales beat Aylward in a very close four-setter for fifth place.

Final Placings

1 Star Band 1
1) Owen Brown (Sx-Horsham Spinners TTC)
2) Will Michell (Sx-Horsham Spinners TTC)
3) Jon-Vai Chung (Sy-Crusaders TTC)
4) Alejandro Ito-Aramendia (Sy-South Croydon TTC)
5) Angus Norman (Sy-Crusaders TTC)
6) Jodie Morris (Sx-Brighton City TTC)

1 Star Band 2
1) Ed Cozens (Sx-Horsham Spinners TTC)
2) John Strang (Sx-Warden Park TTC)
3) William Avery (Av-Sandford Link TTC)
4) Henry Maric-Murray (Sy-South Croydon TTC)
5) Justin Lam (Sy-Graham Spicer TTC)
6) Finn Holder (Brighton City TTC)

1 Star Band 3
1) Emilio Calcada (Sy-Dulwich TTC)
2) Eddie Pullen (Sx-Lancing TTC)
3) Eric Correa (Sy-Dulwich TTC)
4) Rocco Martinez-Paoli (Sy-South Croydon TTC)
5) Isaac Egginton (K-Cleve Park TTC)
6) Freddie Marchant (Sx-Horsham Spinners TTC)

Circuit Band A
1) Juan Cordova (Sy-Dulwich TTC)
2) Akramul Islam (Sy-Dulwich TTC)
3) Danner Cordova (Sy-Dulwich TTC)
4) Jayden Leonnard (Sx-Arundel TTC)
5) Tom Pearson (Sx-Horsham Spinners TTC)

Circuit Band B
1) Franklin Almonte (Sy-Dulwich TTC)
2) Rylie Leonnard (Sx-Arundel TTC)
3) Lino Calcada (Sy-Dulwich TTC)
4) James High (Sx-Horsham Spinners TTC)
5) Jherson Nogales (Sy-Dulwich TTC)
6) Ben Aylward (Sx-Arundel TTC)