Men’s Singles:

Chris Doran took a big step towards claiming the overall Grand Prix crown by winning the Tees Sport Blackpool Grand Prix and taking over at the top of the rankings.

With Paul McCreery falling at the semi-final stage and Ryan Jenkins out with a hip injury, Doran was able to make the most of the weekend by beating a spirited Gavin Rumgay in the final.

After both had serenely progressed from their group, Rumgay embarked on his titanic battle through the knockout stages, twice having to go the full distance.

He opened with a 3-0 win over Liam McTiernan but found himself in trouble at 2-0 down to Sean Doherty in his last sixteen match. However, the Scottish no. 1 found an extra gear and eventually advanced 3-2 (6-11, 4-11, 11-3, 11-8, 11-9).

He carried this form into a dominant quarter-final with Mike O’Driscoll (3-0) but found another stumbling block in the form of Irishman Paul McCreery. The youngster came from behind to lead their semi-final 2-1 but the experienced Scot showed his mettle once more to recover for a 3-2 (11-8, 8-11, 5-11, 11-8, 11-8) win.

Doran, on the other hand, won through to the final with a succession of 3-0 victories. Defeating Ryan Fellows, Niall Cameron, Ashley Robinson and Craig Howieson all by the same scoreline to show his exquisite form.

The final itself was a slow burner with Doran cruising quietly to a 1-0 lead before Rumgay fought back to level. The Englishman claimed an important third game 11-8 and won the point of the match early on in the fourth to end the Scots resistance.

After mixing attack and defence throughout the match, a whole-hearted defensive point from, at several points, outside the court, was won by Doran which broke Rumgay’s spirit.

The Nottingham Trent student eventually sealing the win 11-3.

Women’s Singles:

Welsh international Angharad Phillips picked up her second Grand Prix title of the season, after her triumph at the satellite Cardiff Grand Prix, with a fine final victory over top seed Karina Le Fevre.

After winning her group, Angharad overcame Corinna Whitaker in four games 3-1 (5-11, 11-6, 11-5, 11-5) before beating the second seed Emma Vickers in a pulsating semi-final 3-2 (6-11, 11-8, 8-11, 14-12, 11-2).

In the other half of the draw, Le Fevre wasted no time in beating Gillian Edwards in three straight games before defeating Angharad’s sister Megan in the semi-final to avoid another meeting between the Welsh twins.

Although Le Fevre won the first game of the final comfortably 11-5, Angharad replied with three successive tight games to take the title. The 13-11 third game in particular was crucial to the outcome of the match.

Men’s Under-21s:

Colin Dalgleish won a rollercoaster all-Scottish final against Chris Wheeler to take home the under-21s title from the Tees Sport Blackpool Grand Prix.

After two consecutive 3-0 victories over Liam Fletcher and Joe Killoran, Dalgleish met an inspired Jack Dempsey in the semi-final. Dempsey pushed the Scot hard but Dalgleish was able to come from behind to win 3-2 (7-11, 11-6, 9-11, 11-9, 11-6) and set up a meeting with Wheeler.

The cadet had beaten off Tom Miller and Marcus Reynolds before winning a highly-charged semi-final with Liam McTiernan 3-1 (11-8, 6-11, 11-7, 11-9).

The final was an exhibition in brilliant table tennis that each player was in control of at one stage. Wheeler led twice but Dalgleish’s powerful forehands always kept him in contention – eventually winning 11-7 in the fifth.

Women’s Under-21s:

Natalie Slater was the winner of the Women’s Under-21s after winning every match in her round-robin group.

She was never tested to the full distance throughout her campaign with only Emily Bolton able to take her to four games in the 3-1 (13-11, 7-11, 11-9, 11-8) match-up.

Rebecca Bayley upset the odds to secure second place. Although she was a distant second to Slater, she was able to shock Bolton in the only five-game match of the tournament 3-2 (12-10, 12-10, 8-11, 5-11, 13-11).


Chris Doran and Mike O’Driscoll coasted to the doubles title without dropping a game.

With Doran playing in the Men’s Singles Final, the doubles started late and was by far the last event to finish on Sunday evening. That didn’t stop the dynamic duo racing to the title tough after a series of competent wins.

First they beat Stewart Crawford/Hasitha Samaraweera in the group before securing a semi-final victory over Gavin Rumgay and Craig Howieson to set up  meeting with Niall Cameron and Stephen Beerling, who won an entertaining last four fixture against Paul McCreery/Peter Graham 3-2 (11-7, 7-11, 11-4, 6-11, 11-9).

The final, however, was one-sided like the rest of the champions’ matches as they beat Cameron/Beerling 3-0 (11-8, 11-4, 11-3).

Veteran’s Singles:

The Veteran’s Singles produced the most climatic final of the day with Tomasz Rzeszotko beating Gerry Campbell in a brutal five-game encounter at the end of a long Sunday in Blackpool.

With just two groups it was a quick progression to the semi-finals for both where Rzeszotko beat John Magnall 3-1 (3-11, 11-3, 11-8, 11-7) and Campbell beat Hon Kau Choy 3-0 (11-6, 14-12, 13-11).

They went on to contest that epic final with Rzeszotko finally winning 3-2 (15-17, 11-7, 11-7, 15-17, 13-11) after both had chances throughout to claim the title.

Sudden Death Competition:

Colin Dalgleish became the fourth winner of the Sudden Death competition after a final victory over David Wetherill.

Played first thing in the morning the entry was plagued by missing players which disrupted the flow. Despite good performances from Marcus Reynolds, Paul McCreery, Sepehr Bidari and Wetherill, it was Dalgliesh who took the title and prize funds back to Scotland.

Tees Sport Blackpool Grand Prix Sunday Results
Men’s Singles:

Chris Doran bt Gavin Rumgay 3-1 (11-4, 6-11, 11-8, 11-3)
Women’s Singles:
Angharad Phillips bt Karina Le Fevre 3-1 (5-11, 11-9, 13-11, 11-9)
Men’s Under-21s:
Colin Dalgleish bt Chris Wheeler 3-2 (7-11, 11-2, 10-12, 11-9, 11-7)
Women’s Under-21s:
Natalie Slater won round-robin, Rebecca Bayley runner-up
Chris Doran/Mike O’Driscoll bt Niall Cameron/Steve Beerling 3-0 (11-8, 11-4, 11-3)
Veteran’s Singles:
Tomasz Rzeszotko bt Gerry Campbell 3-2 (15-17, 11-7, 11-7, 15-17, 13-11)
Sudden Death Competition:
Colin Dalgleish bt David Wetherill