Doran in NTU kit alongside Women's Team player Alice Loveridge

Nottingham Trent University table tennis players have been nominated for two British Universities and Colleges Sports (BUCS) Awards. The annual awards recognise and celebrate the very best of university sport.

England international, Chris Doran, has been shortlisted for the Sportsman of the Year award.

Ranked fifth in England, Chris has enjoyed success this year in both national and international university competitions. In the BUCS Championship he won three gold medals and at the recent European University Table Tennis Championships, he collected silver and bronze in the Men’s Singles and Men’s Doubles. He has also won 23, out of 24, individual games in the BUCS League.

Previous winners of the BUCS Sportsman of the Year award include London 2012 triathlete Jonny Brownlee, University of Leeds, and 50m backstroke world record holder Liam Tancock, Loughborough University.

NTU’s Men’s Table Tennis First Team has also been nominated for the Kukri “for the team” award. Chris, alongside fellow team mates Sean Cullen, Emran Hussain and Daniel Lowe are vying for the title against Durham and Northumbria Universities.

The winners will be announced at the 2013 BUCS Awards Dinner on Thursday 11 July.

James Hayter, director of Sport at Nottingham Trent University, said: “These nominations recognise the consistently excellent performance of our table tennis players this year.

“Chris and his teammates have performed superbly and made a huge contribution towards achieving Nottingham Trent University’s best-ever ranking in the BUCS Championships.”

BUCS award shortlist:

Sportsman of the Year:
Christopher Doran – Nottingham Trent University
Michael Jamieson – University of Bath
Harry Martin – University of Nottingham

Sportswoman of the Year:
Ciara Horne – University of Birmingham
Naomi Jones – University of Edinburgh
Amber Reed – University of Exeter

Kukri “for the team” award:
Durham University – Men’s Rugby Union first team
Nottingham Trent University – Men’s Table Tennis first team
Northumbria University – Women’s Volleyball first team

Student Volunteer of the Year:
Barbara Dudek – Southampton Solent University
Katharina Reusch – University of Nottingham

Club of the Year – sponsored by Take That Photo:
University of Derby – Men’s Football
University of Warwick – Squash Club

Unsung Hero:
Alexander Davidson – University of Aberdeen
Victoria Harris – University of Birmingham

Kelly Dove