Colin Dalgleish started the 2021/22 SBL Premier Division in fine form as he helped North Ayrshire (NATTC) beat Fusion 4-3 in the opening fixture of the season.

The only tie of round one to be played on Saturday saw London-based Fusion travel to Scotland for the Premier Division curtain raiser.

Dalgleish didn’t drop a set in the opening game against Robert Pelc, coming through untroubled 11-6, 11-5, 11-5.

Chris Main then beat Lorestas Trumpauskas in four to give NATTC an early 2-0 lead. If at that point it seemed the fixture was going to be over quickly, James Smith had other ideas.

He combined with Lorestas Trumpauskas to beat a Dalgleish and Martin Johnson pairing 3-1.

Smith, who came 7th in the 2019 Junior National Cup, then faced Johnson in what turned out to be the closest encounter of the day. Smith took the first set before current Scottish and British U18 champion Johnson responded in a tense 12-11 set. They shared the next two sets before Smith won the decider 11-7 to level the tie at 2-2.

Dalgleish swung the match back in North Ayrshire’s favour as he secured his second victory of the day, dropping just a single set against Trumpauskas. Johnson then sealed the victory beating Robert Pelc 3-1.

James Smith, winning his third game of the tie, ensured Fusion would leave on a high as he picked up a final win to leave the final score at 4-3.

Fusion will hope to bounce straight back when they face BATTS on the 2nd October. Ormesby will play North Ayrshire in their first game of the season with Urban TTC welcoming Ormeau to London for their first matches of the 2021/22 campaign.

You can find in-depth results, fixtures and league tables here.

North Ayrshire 4 Fusion 3
Colin Dalgleish bt Robert Pelc 3-0 (11-6, 11–5, 11–5)
Christopher Main bt Lorestas Trumpauskas 3-1 (11–8, 11–6, 7–11, 11–9)
Lorestas Trumpauskas / James Smith bt Colin Dalgleish / Martin Johnson 3-1 (9–11, 5–11, 11–7, 4-11)
James Smith bt Martin Johnson 3-2 (4–11, 12–10, 5–11, 11–4, 7–11)
Colin Dalgleish bt Lorestas Trumpauskas 3-1 (12–10, 11–8, 5–11, 12–10)
Martin Johnson bt Robert Pelc 3-1 (11–9, 11–1, 6–11, 11–9)
James Smith bt Christopher Main 3-1 (5–11, 11–13, 11–9, 9–11)