Three clubs have been selected to host the trio of prestigious National Cup tournaments this season.

Joola Plymouth, Corby Smash and Blackpool will be the respective venues for the Junior, Cadet and Under-12 versions of the event, which sees the top 10 players in the rankings play each other on a round-robin basis to decide the champions.

It is part of a commitment by Table Tennis England to take events to an increasing number of venues around the country and to use club venues where possible.

Table Tennis England Director of Sport Simon Mills said: “The National Cups are five-table tournaments and as such are perfectly suited to be hosted by clubs.

“We’re delighted that Plymouth, Blackpool and Corby have the chance this season to stage these important tournaments which play a key role in the development of our young players.

“We will continue to give our clubs the chance to bid to stage events in future seasons.”

It means the venues for all of Table Tennis England’s major tournaments have now been confirmed as follows:

January 19-20
PG Mutual National Championships qualifying tournament, Sir Tom Finney Sports Centre, Preston

March 1-3
PG Mutual National Championships, David Ross Sports Village, University of Nottingham

March 9-10
Cadet National Cup, Corby Smash TTC

March 23
Butterfly School Team Finals, Hinckley Leisure Centre

April 13-14
Under-12 National Cup, Blackpool TTC

April 27
Butterfly School Individual Finals, WV Active Wolverhampton

May 11-12
PG Mutual Cadet & Junior Nationals, David Ross Sports Village, University of Nottingham

June 1-2
Inter-Regional Finals, University of Hertfordshire, Hatfield

June 15-16
PG Mutual U10-13 Nationals, WV Active Wolverhampton

June 22-23
Junior National Cup, Joola Plymouth TTC