CYP players with Jade Carr and The Torch

Over 110 young people made it to the Clubs for Young People National Table Tennis Championships from 11 member organisations, three countries and 21 youth clubs.

The player’s behaviour was exceptional, they were an absolute credit to themselves and their clubs, taking responsibility for the events organisation as well as participating during the day. Thirteen young people were also successful in gaining their junior umpire award.

Some 45 volunteers and staff brought the young people to this event, many staying overnight or enduring long journeys, their commitment and support is very much appreciated. As is the commitment of the ETTA Referee Karen Tonge MBE, IR from Halton Table Tennis Club assisted by Ken Tonge, Frank James, Carol McCormick also from Halton TT club and Inky Moss – qualified ETTA umpire and chairman of Colebridge TT club Warwickshire, their experience and organisational skills ensured the event ran smoothly.

Working in partnership, a number of other volunteers contributed immensely on the day. Namely Neil Wheatley from Colebridge, Susan Kelly Positive Futures, Ray Hirst Barnsley YMCA, Nick Smith from Cumbria and Sean Nolan a young volunteer. Our thanks go to them all.

Halton TT Club Winners

The Mayor and Mayoress of Halton, Councillors Tom and Angela McInerney attended the event, taking time to talk to the young people, watching the finals and then presenting  the awards at the conclusion of the day’s play.

One of the young people, Jade Carr from Halton TT Club, participating in the U19 girls section was fortunate enough to run with the Olympic torch recently which she brought to the event. The young people and the adults were thrilled at being able to see and touch an Olympic torch.

A final bonus for the clubs present on the day will be entry into a draw to win Paralympic table tennis tickets.

Jane Nolan

CYP UK Table Tennis 2012 results:

Under 12 girls

Anna Liddle (North Merchiston, SCO) bt Robyn Cosgrove (Halton TT Club, Ch) 3-2 (7-11, 11-4, 4-11, 11-7, 11-9)


Lisa Rinnhofer (Colebridge TT Club, Wa) bt Jamie Lee Harley (Ael-y-Bryn, WAL) 3-0 (11-4, 11-5, 11-6)

Under 16 girls

Rosanne Hirst (Barnsley YMCA, Y) bt Anna Dawe (North Merchiston, SCO) 3-0 (13-11, 11-8, 11-8)

Under 19 girls

Rachel Cuss (Ael-y-Bryn, WAL) bt Jade Carr (Halton TT Club, Ch) 3-0 (11-2, 12-10, 11-9)

Under 12 Boys

Harry Watson (Halton TT Club, Ch) bt Sam Walsh (Halton TT Club, Ch) 3-0 (11-9, 11-6, 11-7)


Raja Hashim Khan (Lozells Recreation Group, WM) bt Archie Hill (Westminster House, Ln) 3-2 (11-9, 15-13, 7-11, 8-11, 11-8)

Under 14 Boys

Ryan Lunn (Halton TT Club, Ch) bt Liam Beamish (Halton TT Club, Ch) 3-2 (11-6, 7-11, 10-12, 11-8, 11-7)


Mohammed Hassan (Lozells Recreation Group, WM) bt Kyle Ward (Meadows, Nt) 3-2 (7-11, 10-12, 11-3, 11-7, 11-8)

Under 16 Boys

Alex O’Connell (Ael-y-Bryn, WAL) bt Jack Robinson (Barnsley YMCA, Y) 3-0 (12-10, 11-3, 11-1)


Mahammed Junaid (Lozells Recreation Group, WM) bt Kai Sunman (Barnsley YMCA, Y) 3-1 (8-11, 11-8, 11-9, 11-2)

Under 19 Boys

Amit Ubhi (Colebridge YPC, Wa)bt Matthew McCormick (Halton TT Club, Ch) 3-0 (14-12, 11-9, 11-9)                 


Jordan Abbot (Halton TT Club, Ch) bt Arabab Ali (Lozells Recreation Group, WM) 3-1 (6-11, 11-4, 11-4, 13-11)

CYP National Table Tennis 2012 Junior Umpire Award successful candidates

Name Club County
Larissa Herriman Halton TT Club Cheshire
Harry Watson Halton TT Club Cheshire
Lisa Rinnhofer Colebridge YPC Warwickshire
Josh Fox Top Spinners Warwickshire
Jaydon Jones Robinson Basford Nottingham
Aaron Hammond The Underground Club London
Mathew Jackson Norbrook Manchester
David Adesanye Club Team Olympic London
Sam Walsh Halton TTC Cheshire
Jamie Fellows Colebridge YPC Warwickshire
Ben Mathews Colebridge YPC Warwickshire
Kieran Walsh Halton TTC Cheshire
Sam Minton Colebridge YPC Warwickshire