Sam Hume : winner Junior Doubles, runner-up Junior Singles, youngest competitor (aged 11), awarded Victor Trophy


Kevin Gowlett took the glory in the Clacton and District Table Tennis League’s 2012 Closed Championships held last weekend at the Coastal Academy Sports Hall.

Gowlett resisted the challenge of top seed Gary Young to win the Mens Singles title with a 3-1 (14-12, 11-4, 5-11, 11-5) final victory, his effortless style of play earning him a second Mens crown.

It was a self-assured performance from Gowlett who had stamped his authority in the semi-final by brushing aside reigning champion Greg Green 3-0 (11-3, 11-4, 11-8).

But it had been different in the quarter-final where Gary Cattermole, who had earlier put out Martin Hogg, held a match point in the fourth set before a relieved Gowlett won 3-2 (9-11, 11-5, 9-11, 13-11, 11-8).

The event witnessed a fine effort from fifteen-year old James Denyer who reached the semi-finals for the first time by defeating Colin Stallwood 3-2 (11-6, 4-11, 7-11, 11-8, 12-10) in a pulsating quarter-final before going out to Young.

It was a bitter disappointment for Young, unbeaten in the League all season but unable to regain the title he won for the only time in 2004, since when he has been four times a losing finalist.

There was a second title for Gowlett when he took the Veterans Singles trophy, defeating Colin Webber 3-0 (11-7, 11-7, 11-8).

It was a bad day for former champions, title-holder Alan Burgess losing to Webber 3-2 (11-6, 9-11, 11-7, 12-14, 11-9) in a classic semi-final whilst Martin Hogg went down to John Pattrick in the quarters.

The Mens Doubles saw Greg Green and Gary Young confirm their position as the League’s top pairing, taking the title for a third year running by overcoming the youthful challenge of James Denyer and Felipe Rodriguez 3-0 (11-5, 11-6, 11-4).

It was a clinical display from the holders and although Denyer and Rodriguez did not fire on all cylinders in the final, they can reflect on an excellent event, in particular their 3-1 (12-10, 4-11, 14-12, 11-8) semi-final win over second seeds Martin Hogg and Colin Stallwood.

Gill Locke and Sue Welham were the two outstanding players in the Ladies Singles and it was Gill who took the title for a second time, beating reigning champion Sue 3-1 (6-11, 11-7, 11-5, 11-2).

In the semi-finals, Sue beat Isabel Barton in three-straight but Gill had to withstand a determined onslaught from Annabelle Rodriguez before winning 3-2 (11-6, 8-11, 11-6, 6-11, 11-3).

In the Ladies Doubles Gill Locke and Annabelle Rodriguez combined to beat Sue Welham and Sandie Isaac 3-0 (11-6, 11-9, 11-5), a first Ladies Doubles title for Gill but a sixth for Annabelle.

Gill Locke and Sue Welham were on opposite sides for a third time in the Mixed Doubles but, on this occasion, Sue triumphed.

But it was a close-run affair, holders Gary Young and Sue Welham beating James Denyer and Gill Locke 3-2 (8-11, 11-4, 10-12, 11-9,

13-11) in a see-saw final, the most exciting of the Championships.

Hot favourite James Denyer took the Junior Singles to make it a hat-trick of titles although the event was not without its shocks,

Elliott Attrill reaching the semi-final by defeating Kelvin Olano in his group whilst Sam Hume beat both Tom Burton and Tom Wilkin.

In his semi-final, eleven-year old Sam – the youngest player in the Championships – made an even greater impact with a stunning victory over older brother Paul, but Denyer proved too strong in the final, overcoming Hume junior 3-0 (11-5, 11-2, 11-6).

James Denyer : aged 15, winner Junior Singles, runner-up Junior Doubles, Mens Doubles and Mixed Doubles, semi-finalist Mens Singles.

The two seeded pairs met in the Junior Doubles final but the result was unexpected, Paul and Sam Hume defeating James Denyer and Tom Wilkin 3-0 (11-5, 11-5, 11-9) to become only the second pair of brothers, and the first since 1977, to win this title.

In recognition of Sam’s efforts – Junior Singles runner-up, Junior Doubles winner as well as getting to the knock-out stage of the Mens Singles – Sam was presented with the Victor Trophy for the outstanding performance of the Tournament.

The form book went out of the window in the Division Two Singles where, in the semi-finals, top seed John Barton was eliminated 11-6 in the fifth by Paul Woolnough and number two seed Terry May went down 11-9 in the decider to John Hatley.
The final proved equally exciting, Woolnough coming back from two sets down to lead 6-2 in the fifth before losing the next seven points, and then saving two match points before edging it 3-2 (5-11, 3-11, 11-9, 11-5, 14-12) in a quality final.

The top two seeds, both juniors, contested the Division Three Singles final but Kelvin Olano was unable to retain the title he’d taken unexpectedly last year, losing 3-0 (11-3, 11-9, 11-8) to new champion Paul Hume.

Elliott Attrill and Darren Bunce played well to reach the semi-finals, Attrill beating Sam Hume, Fred Gallone and then Mike Hillier 14-12 in the fifth in the quarters, whilst Bunce defeated Tom Burton and John Houghton before losing 11-6 in the decider to Olano

There are no seeds in the Restricted Singles but Mark Smith confirmed his position as the class player in the field by beating John Owen 3-1 (9-11, 11-9, 11-4, 11-5).

In the Super-Veterans Singles it was third time lucky for Colin Dearman who, after eliminating top seed Fred Button in the semi-final, defeated surprise finalist Paul Meikle 3-1 (11-7, 8-11, 11-6, 14-12), Meikle having earlier beaten second seed Alan Burgess.

Once again the League was indebted to Paul Newbould Planning and Building Design Services, main Championships sponsors since 1993.

Kevin Gowlett : winner Mens Singles and Veterans Singles


Mens Singles : K Gowlett beat G Young 3-1 (14-12, 11-4, 5-11, 11-5).

Ladies Singles : G Locke beat S Welham 3-1 (6-11, 11-7, 11-5, 11-2).

Mens Doubles : G Green/G Young beat J Denyer/F Rodriguez 3-0 (11-5, 11-6, 11-4).

Ladies Doubles : G Locke/A Rodriguez beat S Welham/S Isaac

3-0 (11-6, 11-9, 11-5).

Mixed Doubles : G Young/S Welham beat J Denyer/G Locke 3-2 (8-11, 11-4, 10-12, 11-9, 13-11).

Veterans Singles : K Gowlett beat C Webber 3-0 (11-7, 11-7, 11-8).

Super-Veterans Singles : C Dearman beat P Meikle 3-1 (11-7, 8-11, 11-6, 14-12).

Junior Singles : J Denyer beat S Hume 3-0 (11-5, 11-2, 11-6).

Junior Doubles : P Hume/S Hume beat J Denyer/T Wilkin 3-0 (11-5, 11-5, 11-9).

Division Two Singles : P Woolnough beat J Hatley 3-2 (5-11, 3-11, 11-9, 11-5, 14-12).

Division Three Singles : P Hume beat K Olano 3-0 (11-3, 11-9, 11-8).

Restricted Singles : M Smith beat J Owen 3-1 (9-11, 11-9, 11-4, 11-5).

Victor Trophy : S Hume


Division 1

Windsor Kestrels 7 Nomads Jaguars 3;

Walton A 3 Windsor Roosters 7;

Brotherhood A 8 Walton B 2;

Nomads Panthers 3 Windsor Condors 7.

Division 2

Windsor Hawks 9 Brotherhood D 1;

Windsor Ravens 10 Nomads Lynx 0;

Windsor Magpies 8 Brotherhood C 2;

Walton D 7 Windsor Owls 3.

Division 3

Nomads Leopards 9 Windsor Kites 1;

Brotherhood J 7 Nomads Leopards 3;

Windsor Swallows 1 Nomads Cougars 9;

Brotherhood L 6 Nomads Bobcats 4.

Tony Oswick