The Clacton and District League’s Closed Championships, sponsored by Paul Newbould Planning and Building Design Services, take place this weekend at the Clacton Coastal Academy Sports Hall.

Sixty-eight League players will be competing for eleven titles.

Over the last five years, Kevin Gowlett, Greg Green and Colin Stallwood have shared the Mens Singles’ title between them.

They, alongside junior James Denyer, are the four players predicted to reach the semi-finals with reigning champion Gowlett, unbeaten in the League this season, starting as favourite.

Colin Stallwood won the Mens Doubles in 2008 and 2009 with Martin Hogg, while Greg Green has been a winner for the last three seasons with partner Gary Young.

This year, Stallwood and Green play together and look the pairing to beat, ahead of the two Kevin’s, Gowlett and James, and last year’s beaten finalists, James Denyer and Felipe Rodriguez.

In 2012 Gill Locke defeated Sue Welham to take the Ladies Singles and the two women are seeded to meet in the final again, with only Annabelle Rodriguez seemingly able to spoil their party.

There could also be a repeat final in the Ladies Doubles where the holders, Gill Locke and Annabelle Rodriguez, should meet last year’s runners-up, Sue Welham and Sandie Isaac.

It would be a brave pundit to predict the outcome of the Mixed Doubles where three equally-matched pairs – Colchester champions and last season’s Clacton runners-up, James Denyer and Gill Locke, Greg Green and Sue Welham, and 2009 champions Colin Stallwood and Annabelle Rodriguez – will battle it out for honours.

In the Junior Singles James Denyer is the heavy odds-on favourite to take a fourth title, with Paul Hume, Sam Hume and Adam Cuthbert completing the likely semi-final line-up.

James Denyer has been a runner-up for the last four seasons in the Junior Doubles but this year, partnered by Adam Cuthbert, he should add this trophy to his ever-growing trophy cabinet.

But don’t dismiss the claims of Paul and Sam Hume who caused an upset by winning last year – they will be in no mood to give up their title lightly.

In the Veterans Singles, Kevin Gowlett and Colin Stallwood are the top seeds with the likeliest challenge coming from previous champions, Kevin James and Alan Burgess, and last season’s beaten finalist, Colin Webber.

Holder Colin Dearman and runner-up Paul Meikle were unexpected finalists last year in the Super-Veterans Singles where Alan Burgess, a winner in 2008 and 2010, and Fred Button, the 2011 champion, will be itching to get their hands back on the trophy.

Gary Stallwood has twice won the Division Two Singles and he has an outstanding chance to make it three this year. But, in an event that often produces unpredictable results, Paul Hewitt, Paul Hume, Russell Hillier, David North and Lee Harvey will all feel they are in with a chance.

Tom Burton is unbeaten in the League and starts as deserved favourite in the Division Three Singles ahead of 2011 champion Kelvin Olano, Allen Denyer and Gerald Batt.

There are no seeds in the Restricted Singles but Gary Cattermole and Stewart Murray head an entry that includes Paul Meikle, Martin Edwards, Phil Smith and Terry May.

Play starts at 9.30 am on both Saturday and Sunday. The finals of the six minor events will take place after 4.00 pm on Saturday, with the finals of the five major events scheduled for after 4.00 pm on Sunday.

Admission is free. Refreshments will be available.