The 80th anniversary City of Liverpool Grand Prix, supported by Tees Sport, again enjoyed a large enthusiastic entry, thereby maintaining its reputation as an ideal tournament to open the season.

Men’s Open:

Gavin Rumgay (Scotland), the holder for the past three years, squared up against Darius, who en route to the penultimate stage dropped just one game, which was to Scotland’s Gerry Campbell in the last 32. He stepped up a gear after that, conceding a total of just eleven points in the preceding three games.

The final, as so many over the years in Liverpool have been, was a sparkling affair, which kept the crowd of more than 200, on their toes. The England number two kicked off in fine style, taking the opening game 11-7, the holder, though, recovering well to forge a 2-1 lead with some tremendous and varied counter attacking play. Rumgay, the first man to win the Liverpool title three years in a row, had to contend with Knight’s excellently disguised spin serves, which ultimately was the key to his success. He was made to sweat in the fourth, but weathered a spell of fine play by the England number two and although failing to take his first match point at 10-9, took the title on his fourth to win 15-13. The encounter was thoroughly enjoyed by all and was a credit not only to the players but was a great advert for the sport.  Rumgay’s success moves him level on four men’s titles with Johnny Leach and Denis Neale, while Victor Barna has five to his credit.

Women’s Open:

The women’s event contained five of the top ten in England Karina Le Fevre (Cv) a losing

semi-finalist to the eventual champion Liu Na a year ago, was seeded at one this year, but fell at the penultimate stage, again, to the eventual champion Egle Adomelyte (Mi), 11-3 in the decider.  Second seed, Amanda Mogey (Ireland), fared even worse, departing in the quarters to Lancashire’s Lindsey Reynolds who then dismissed Klaudia Szadkowska (Mi) 3-1.  Lindsey, ranked at seven in England, had won her three previous rounds 3-1 and took the opening game 12-10 against Egle in the final, before being comfortably beaten in the next 11-5.  The England number four made it 2-1 and edged home in the fourth 11-9 to claim the title for the first time.

Under 21 Men’s Singles:

England number 2 and top seed Darius Knight conceded a walkover at the first round stage which left Damien Nicholls as the favourite. He duly qualified accounting for Mark Simpson (Du) 3-1 in the last four. Ireland’s Ashley Robinson, the beneficiary of Knight’s withdrawal, pushed Craig Hardie (Scotland) (the runner-up in the Band One final) all the way, losing 11-8 in the fifth. Sean Doherty, also from Scotland, put a halt to Hardie’s charge 3-1 in the last four before Nicholls took the title by three games to one.

Under 21 Women’s Singles:

Rarely does the champion from the previous season repeat their success by retaining the title, which is what this season’s top seed, Karina Le Fevre (Cv) was aiming to achieve. The final was a nip and tuck affair, Karina taking the first game and Mary Fuller the second, the holder, though, with a slightly stronger game, winning the next two to retain the crown.

Men’s Band One:

Kevin Dolder, runner-up to Craig Hardie (Scotland) in the group matches, got the chance for another crack at the Scot when they met in the final. This time it was Dolder that came out on top taking the win after five ends.

Women’s Band One:

The final produced a fine contest between Natalie Slater (St) and Mary Fuller (Y), the former accounting for top seed Melissa Wright (Ys) in straight games and Gillian Edwards (Scotland) 3-1. Mary, coached by legendary Estonian, Hans Soova, chalked up 3-1 wins over Chloe Thomas (Wales) and Lancashire’s Rachel Baker 11-7 in the fifth. Natalie edged the opener 13-11, dropped the next, but took the fourth 11-9 before sweeping to victory 11-3 in the decider.


Men’s Singles
Gavin Rumgay bt. Darius Knight
7-11, 11-8, 11-8, 15-13

Women’s Singles
Egle Adomelyte bt. Lindsey Reynolds
10-12, 11-5, 11-8, 11-9

Men’s Band 1
Kevin Dolder bt. Craig Hardie
11-9, 10-12, 11-8, 9-11, 11-9

Men’s Band 2
Tomaz Rzeszotko bt. Kevin Caldon
11-9, 11-7, 11-5

Men’s Band 3
Joe Hurdley bt. Remata Sherwin
11-7, 15-13, 13-11

Men’s Band 4
Sam Logue bt. Maciek Szymanski
12-10, 11-6, 13-11

Men’s Band 5
Maciek Szymanski bt. Michael Lunn
4-11, 6-11, 11-8, 11-9, 11-9

Men’s Band 6
Kristof Pinter bt. Dean Cundy
4-11, 11-6, 11-9, 9-11, 11-6

Under 21 Men
Damien Nicholls bt. Sean Doherty
11-7, 9-11, 11-4, 13-11

Women’s Band 1
Natalie Slater bt. Mary Fuller
13-11, 7-11, 11-9, 11-3

Women’s Band 2
Gillian Edwards bt. Angharad Phillips
11-8, 11-8, 11-4

Women’s Band 3
Charlotte Airey bt. Janay Gibson
11-9, 3-11, 11-9, 11-9

Under 21 Women
Karina Le Fevre bt. Mary Fuller
11-6, 9-11, 11-9, 11-8

Mixed Restricted
Matt Pernet bt. Adam Laws
7-11, 10-12, 11-7, 12-10, 11-8

Mixed Veterans
Ivan Lewis bt. Tony Wilson
9-11, 7-11, 11-8, 11-8, 11-6