Abbott and Sayer give Maldon A the edge against Writtle A

The battle to win the first division of the Chelmsford & District Table Tennis League looks like being one of the closest on record with at least three teams – Writtle A (58 points), ECC A (56 points) and Maldon A (55 points) all very much in the shake-up for honours.

Last year’s Champions and probable favourites – Maldon A were impressive 8-2 winners over Writtle A with the 2013 M&G Investments Chelmsford Closed Tournament Mens Doubles Champions Paul Sayer and Alex Abbott dominating the action. They both remained undefeated whilst Kevin Worthington pipped Paul Stephens 3-2 (11-6, 7-11, 11-9, 6-11, 12-10) in the closest game of the night.

ECC A were well beaten 7-3 by Maldon B who were bolstered by the inclusion of exciting new Essex Junior talent – James Denyer. He had few problems beating all three ECC players – Reuben Okai, Dave Evans and Steve Kerns 3-0. Reuben Okai did well to beat Chris Jacob 3-1 (4-11, 11-9, 11-4, 11-7). Bottom side ECC B scored their second win of the Season beating Maldon B 6-4. Their leading player – 1998 Chelmsford Mens Singles Champion – Rik James won his three singles and Simon Webber scored two first class wins over John Poysden and John Cleasby.

The match between OCs A and Bocking A finished tied at 5-5. Bocking’s Kevin Gowlett scored a superb trio of wins beating David Cole, Brandon Crouchman and Terry Dowsett whilst Jon Hill also scored an excellent victory. He beat Brandon Crouchman 3-0 (11-9, 12-10, 11-8). Elmtree Excalibur A were 6-4 winners over Danbury A, good going as it was Danbury’s inform Eric Green who won his three singles. The ace–defender defeated Nigel Lamb, Gary Baker and Glenn Johnson.

Danbury D (Chris Buer, Steve Buer and Chris Hancox) lead Division Two with 79 points and they were very convincing 10-0 winners over Danbury C. None of the games were decided in the fifth end.

ECC C (71 points) have climbed into second place and they were 9-1 winners over Danbury B. James Hicks and Colin Blore were both undefeated. Blore fought back from 2-0 down to beat Neil Want 3-2 (3-11, 7-11, 11-6, 11-6, 12-10). Liberal and Hatfield Peverel  A are tied on 61 points and it was Liberal who shaded their match 6-4. Steve Pennell won his three singles and he clinched the Liberal victory by beating John Webber 3-1 (8-11, 13-11,12-10, 11-4) in the last game of the night.

Elsewhere, Writtle B (Hector Rogers, Matthew Brown and Gary Ward) beat Danbury B 8-2. Gary Ward had to pull out all the stops to beat Glen Laing 3-2 (8-11, 11-8, 8-11, 13-11, 12-10).

Elmtree Excalibur D, the Division Three leaders beat ECC D 9-1. Scott Dowsett and Russell Mills were both undefeated although Dowsett had his work cut out to get the better of Malcolm Storey 3-2 (7-11, 11-7, 8-11, 11-6, 11-9). Danbury E are in second place and they beat ECC E 8-2. Peter Hance and Norman Smith both bagged hat-tricks.

Rawreth were 9-1 winners. Matt Rolfe and Paul Churn were both undefeated as they saw off ECC E. In a much closer fought match Hatfield Peverel C ran out 6-4 winners over Chelmsford C. Dave Fiddeman won his three singles with wins over Dave Parker, Gordon Fairchild and Paul Nicol.

Division Four leaders Danbury H suffered their second defeat of the season, 7-3, at the hands of third-placed Danbury G. Dave Marsh won his three singles and this included a 3-1 (7-11, 11-7, 11-3, 11-9) win over Dave Goody, the best of the Danbury H players. Danbury H returned to winning ways against ECC F. Dave Goody was very much to the fore with three singles victories.

Danbury G (Dave Marsh, Richard Allen and John Robinson) bolstered their chances with a very decisive 9-1 victory over ECC F. Peter Sun beat Richard Allen, for the County Council side’s only victory. Maldon C were 7-3 winners over Writtle C. Brian Riedling won his three singles, whilst Dawn Baldry who played so well in the recent M&G Investments Chelmsford Closed Tournament Ladies Singles Final came within a whisker of doing so as well. She beat Andy Fox and Colin Griffiths and only missed out against Brian Steward 3-2 (8-11, 8-11, 12-10, 11-9, 13-11).

Maldon C could yet make a late charge for promotion and with Brian Riedling and Dawn Baldry both remaining undefeated they beat OCs D 9-1. Adrian North was OCs’ only winner and he did well to beat Tom Elder 3-0 (11-8, 11-8, 11-7).

The big match in Division Five saw OCs E draw 5-5 with the leaders Danbury K. No single player stayed undefeated and the OCs duo of Dave Newman and Daniel Berry and the Danbury pairing of Kevin Willis and Philip Crudgington all won twice. Dave Newman beat Philip Crudgington 3-2 (11-9, 8-11, 13-11, 12-14, 12-10) in the closest game of the evening.

The match between Danbury J and OCs F also finished tied at 5-5. Mick Robinson won his three singles for the Danbury side. OCs E ran out 8-2 winners against OCs F. Dave Newman led the way with three singles wins. Elsewhere, Hatfield Peverel E beat Chelmsford F 7-3. Keith Cullen led the way with a hat-trick of wins.

In the CLICK League there were 5-0 wins for ECC G (Nathan Blore) and OCS KEGS (Danial Naqvi and Harry Clark). ECC G beat Chelmsford J (Peter Davenport and Steven Davenport) whilst OCs KEGS ran out the winners over Chelmsford K (Harry Isaacs and George Wackett)

Steve Kerns

Press & Publicity Officer

Chelmsford & District Table Tennis League