Writtle A determined to avoid relegation

Writtle A who are fighting hard to avoid relegation scored a fine 7-3 win over Maldon A in the first division of the Chelmsford & District Table Tennis League. Peter Radford led the way with 3-0 victories over Keiran Lally, John Poysden and John Cleasby. Bocking remain in second place and they ran out 9-1 winners over bottom side Chelmsford A. Kevin Gowlett and Paul Davison both stayed undefeated whilst Darren Richardson did well to beat Matt Staines, the Chelmsford Men’s Doubles Champion back in 2004 – 3-2 (11-9, 11-3, 4-11, 8-11, 11-9).

Maldon B stay top although this week they were held to a draw by Danbury A. Antony Greenwood who went on to make such an impact in the Chelmsford Closed Tournament beat Paul Stephens, Hamish Innes and Peter Ballard. Peter Ballard impressed by defeating Michael Andrews 3-0 (11-9, 12-10, 11-5).

There’s no stopping Elmtree Excalibur B in Division Two. An undefeated John Holland led the way as they beat ECC C 8-2 whilst James Hicks impressed for the losers by beating Gary Cattermole and Phil Smith. Writtle B’s Trevor Carter was unbeaten in his side’s 6-4 win over Liberal. Hector Rogers defeated Barry Pritchard 3-2 (12-10, 6-11, 11-9, 10-12, 11-7) in the closest game of the night. Hatfield Peverel B (Gus Heath, Chris Buer and Steve Buer) ran out 8-2 winner over Elmtree Excalibur C. Gus Heath and Chris Buer both stayed unbeaten.

Division Three leaders Danbury B made it 14 wins out of 15 by beating Danbury C 6-4. However, none of their players were able to get the better of Dave Richardson. Danbury B’s Neil Want won twice and he fought back from 2-0 down to get the better of Ivan Chaplin 3-2 (9-11, 8-11, 11-9, 11-5, 11-9).  A very hard-fought match between OCs D and Elmtree Excalibur D finished as a 5-5 draw. Six games were decided in the fifth end and Dave Moles remained undefeated for the Elmtree Excalibur side. David Porter did well for OCs. He beat Tony Hallett 3-2 (11-9, 6-11, 12-14, 11-7, 12-10) and Steve Cheesman after a titanic struggle 3-2 (10-12, 5-11, 12-10, 16-14, 11-9).

In a match where no one player remained undefeated Danbury F beat Danbury D 6-4. Richard Allan and Terry Hyland both won twice for Danbury F whilst Herbie Smith and Peter Hance both bagged two wins for Danbury D. Danbury D remain fifth despite losing 7-3 to ECC D. Again no one player stayed undefeated in this match and this time Neil Thompson, Peter Layzell and Richard Storey all won twice for ECC. Neil Thompson fought back from trailing 2-0 to get the better of Norman Smith 3-2 (5-11, 8-11, 15-13, 11-7, 11-9).

Division Four leaders ECC E beat Hatfield Peverel D narrowly 6-4. Jeff Lewington won his three singles for the ECC side whilst Gareth Davies picked up two wins for Hatfield Peverel. Keith Cullen was determined not to go home empty-handed and he beat John Wickens 3-2 (8-11, 10-12, 11-6, 11-4, 11-7) in the last game of the night. The match between Danbury H and Elmtree Excalibur E  finished tied at 5-5. Roger Tiffin was Danbury’s star player with three wins whilst Nicola Pippen won twice for Elmtreee Excalibur – good wins as well against Mick Robinson and Norman Hayes. Danbury J had Robert Kneale to thank as they beat ECC F 6-4. Kneale came out on top against Mohammed Mohseni 3-2 (11-4, 11-8, 9-11, 15-17, 11-9) after a real hum-dinger of a game. Hatfield Peverel E’s ever-reliable Dave Carter stayed undefeated in their 6-4 win over Danbury J. Chris Hancox won twice for the Danbury team.

Danbury K returned to the top of the table in Division Five, courtesy of recording two thumping 10-0 victories. John Knights, Philip Crudgington and John Skuse were all unbeaten against Elmtree Excalibur F whilst Kevin Willis, Trevor Palmer and Philip Crudginton were undefeated against Chelmsford H. Third-placed OCs F are very much in contention. Frank Hodge and Nat Ravlic were both unbeaten as they defeated OCs H 9-1. Charlie Mariner scored for OCs H with a hard-fought 3-2 (9-11, 11-9, 11-9, 7-11, 11-8) victory against Tom Barker.

OCs E had David Newman to thank as they beat Chelmsford H 7-3. 2012 Chelmsford Handicap Singles Champion Ryan Gooday beat Tom Adam 3-2 (4-11,11-5, 11-8, 13-15, 12-10) in the closest game of the night. Chelmsford F remain in second place. Richard Upson, Richard Baxter and Mike Pitt all won twice as they beat Chelmsford H 7-3. Michael Whelpdale won twice for the H side and this included a 3-2 (6-11, 12-10, 7-11, 11-8, 11-9) win over Richard Upson.

CLICK League leaders Writtle D made it 11 wins out of 13 by beating Chelmsford L 5-0. Peter Windley, David Meah and Alex Warway were all undefeated. David Meah came up trumps in the closest game of the night. He beat Thomas Nguyen 3-2 (4-11, 12-10, 19-17, 6-11, 11-8). OCs J (Harvey Russell and Stephen Turner) were 5-0 winners against  ECC G (Nathan Blore and Emily Wood) whilst Chelmsford K’s Jenny Crapnell and Callum Webster beat Chelmsford M 5-0. Callum Webster defeated Steven Davenport 3-1 (13-11, 13-15, 11-7, 11-5) in a well contested game. Writtle D ran out 4-1 winners against Chelmsford K. Peter Windley won twice for Writtle D and this included a 3-2 (10-12, 11-6, 11-13, 11-8, 11-8) victory over Adam Kirchel.

Steve Kerns

Press & Publicity Officer

Chelmsford & District Table Tennis League