Rawreth and Hullbridge A are currently in second place in the first division of the Chelmsford & District Table Tennis League (with three games in hand on the leaders) and they scored a fine 8-2 win over the current table-toppers OCs A.

Ben Warner and Duncan Taylor were both undefeated, with the defensive Duncan Taylor really hitting the heights. He beat all three OCs players – Michael Andrews, Brandon Brouchman and Terry Dowsett decisively three-straight. Brandon Crouchman was OCs’ only singles winner. He got the better of Glenn Johnson 3-2 (8-11, 5-11, 11-6, 11-8, 11-9).

Galleywood A also won 8-2 and they took full advantage of Maldon A‘s inability to field a full side. John Holland led the way with wins over both Peter Norcott and Hamish Innes. The hard-hitting Peter Norcott beat both Mark Mulley (3-2) and Steve Kerns (3-1).

Four players scored hat-tricks in Division Two. James Hicks, playing as well as ever with a 75 per cent record over the season, won his three singles which helped Galleywood B draw 5-5 against OCs B. He beat Robbie Burton 3-2 (13-15, 11-6, 11-13, 11-6, 11-9) in his opening singles and went on to get the better of Kevin Worthington 3-2 (11-6, 11-8, 9-11, 6-11, 11-6) and finally Stephen Northcott 3-0 (11-3, 11-7, 12-10).

Chelmsford A’s Julie Johnson produced her best form of the season as she beat all three Danbury C players in her side’s 6-4 victory. This included a fine 3-1 (12-10, 11-8, 9-11, 11-7) victory against Glen Laing. Elmtree Excalibur B defeated their C side 7-3. Tony Hallett and Richard Storey both won their three singles encounters. Tony Hallett started the ball rolling by getting the better of Paul Sturton 3-2 (11-9, 7-11, 11-7, 10-12, 11-8) in the first game of the evening.

OCs B top the table in Division Three and they scored their sixth win of the season by beating Danbury G 8-2. Daniel Berry won his three singles and Frank Hodge and Nat Ravlic both won twice.

Danbury F (Ken Sheard, Tim Pulham and Gordon Gatherall) all won twice as they got the better of Danbury G 6-4 although they all drew blanks against Dave Marsh. Marsh beat Tim Pulham by the very odd-looking 3-2 scoreline of 11-3, 2-11, 8-11, 11-5, 11-0.

Chelmsford C ran out 6-4 winners against OCs D. Chris Denyer won his three singles. He completed his hat-trick with a 3-1 (3-11, 11-3, 13-11, 11-9) victory over Roy Moore.
OCs E did well in Division Four. They beat the higher-placed Elmtree Excalibur D 7-3. Adrian North won his three singles and Charles Yeung won twice.

Danbury J (Trevor Palmer, Kevin Willis and Dave Hancox) ran out 7-3 winners against Danbury K but they didn‘t fare so well against Elmtree Excalibur D. Neil Thompson and Dave Moles were both undefeated as Elmtree Excalibur D won 8-2. Steve Siggs defeated Kevin Willis 3-2 (11-3, 6-11, 12-10, 9-11, 11-9) in the closest game of the night.

However, Danbury J returned to winning ways against Galleywood C winning comfortably 9-1. Kevin Willis and Dave Hancox both scored three wins this time. Hancox came through in five ends against Colin Barham (8-11, 11-8, 14-12, 8-11, 11-6).

Division Five produced two big wins this week. Second-placed Danbury L’s 9-1 victory over third-placed Chelmsford F was the most eye-catching. Rob Kneale (three wins), Eamon Hall (three wins) and Scott Perry (two wins) all impressed.

Elmtree Excalibur E (Keith Pallett, Martin Hiskey and Keith Fitz John) also won 9-1, beating Galleywood D. Emily Wood beat Keith Pallet for Galleywood’s sole win.

Buttsbury B lost 3-2 twice in the CLICK League. OCs H’s Lawrence Bartlett beat both Grant Clark and Danny Mitchell in their encounter whilst Chelmsford H’s Kristian Krejirik did the double getting the better of Alex Headley and George Cobley. Lawrence Bartlett’s win over Danny Mitchell revolved around a very hard-fought third end. Bartlett trailed 2-0 but fought back very strongly to triumph 3-2 (8-11, 10-12, 13-11, 11-2, 11-1).

All players are reminded that the 2014-5 Chelmsford & DTTL Individual Championships take place over the weekend of January 30 to February 1, 2015 at Hylands School, Chelmsford Road, Chelmsford, CM1 3ET. Late entries will not be allowed this year so all players are reminded to submit their entries to the Tournament Organiser Arthur Clark as soon as possible.

Steve Kerns (press & publicity officer)
December 8, 2014