Danbury A should be one of the front-runners in the first division of the Chelmsford & District Table Tennis League this year and with a new-look side of Gary Young, 2015 M&G Investments Chelmsford Men’s Singles Champion Ben Warner and Minda Sinkus they overcame a game Danbury C 10-0.

Steve Whitely came closest to winning a singles encounter, pushing Gary Young all the way before losing 3-2 (13-11, 5-11, 6-11, 11-8, 8-11).

Galleywood A did well to draw 5-5 against OCs A. Peter Radford led the way with an excellent hat-trick of wins which included a fine 3-1 (8-11, 13-11, 11-5, 11-6) success against Brandon Crouchman. The evergreen Lucy Wang defeated both Terry Dowsett and John Cleasby.

Maldon A also made a winning start by beating Danbury B 6-4. Alex Abbott won his three singles for Maldon whilst Peter Mynard picked up an outstanding win for Danbury. He defeated John Poysden 3-2 (7-11, 4-11, 11-9, 11-6, 11-8).

Division Two produced two closely fought matches this week. Danbury D and Galleywood shared the points. Galleywood’s James Hicks dominated proceedings with a hat-trick of wins against Chris Buer, Steve Buer and Neil Want.

Rawreth / Hullbridge ran out 6-4 winners against Chelmsford A. Paul Churn excelled for Rawreth on this occasion and after beating Ryan Gooday 3-1 (10-12, 11-9, 11-7, 11-8) in his opening encounter he added two excellent wins over Mike Johnston and Waseem Qureshi.

Danbury G made a winning start in Division Three. Dan Anderson and Dan Richardson were both undefeated as they saw off Maldon B 7-3. Dan Richardson had to pull out all the stops to get the better of Brian Riedling 3-2 (3-11, 12-10, 15-17, 12-10, 14-12) – quite a battle!

Danbury K’s Eamon Hall and Kevin Willis both made winning starts in Division Four. They were both undefeated in their team’s 8-2 win over Excalibur D.

Danbury H shaded the match 6-4 against Danbury J. No one player stayed undefeated and Dave Powell (Danbury J) and Norman Smith and Maurice Hardy (Danbury H) all won twice.

In Division Five, Writtle were 6-4 winners over Hatfield Peverel E. Frank Neill won his three singles for Writtle whilst Andy Simmonds and Peter Mortensen both picked up two wins for Hatfield Peverel. Frank Neill sealed his side’s victory by getting the better of Andy Simmonds 3-1 (11-8, 7-11, 11-7, 11-8) in the last game of the night.

Galleywood D did well to beat Chelmsford G 7-3. Mark Glenister did well to beat both Jason Clark and Steven Chambers.

Buttsbury A made a winning start to their CLICK campaign. James Hughes remained undefeated as they beat Buttsbuy B 4-1.