Danbury B scored their first win of the season in the first division of the Chelmsford & District Table Tennis League and their 7-3 victory over Hatfield Peverel A takes them out of the bottom two.

With Gus Heath, Steve Buer and Chris Buer all winning twice they raced in to a 7-0 lead as nothing went Hatfield Peverel’s way. Chris Buer scored a fine 3-2 (7-11, 5-11, 11-8, 11-6, 11-8) win over Julie Johnson and an equally impressive 3-2 (11-5, 11-9, 8-11, 13-15, 11-8) win over Scott Dowsett whilst Steve Buer impressed with a superb 3-0 (11-8, 11-9, 11-8) victory over Dowsett.

In game number eight Alastair Piper finally secured  a win for Hatfield Peverel with a decisive 3-0 (11-4, 11-8, 11-8) victory over Steve Buer and Johnson and Dowsett also picked up wins to give the score a degree of respectability.

Liberal ran out 8-2 winners over Writtle B after a Paul Davison hat-trick fashioned their triumph. Phil Smith impressed for the losers by beating Steve Pennell 3-1 (11-7, 11-8, 7-11, 15-13) and Andrew Huckson 3-2 (11-7, 9-11, 12-10, 7-11, 11-7).

Writtle A, with Duncan Taylor and Lee McHugh firing on all cylinders, ran out 9-1 winners against Chelmsford B. 2018 M&G Investments Chelmsford Men’s Singles champion Taylor was several classes apart. He beat Victor Chan (11-6, 11-5, 11-8), Simon Jarvis (11-2, 11-3, 11-4) and Rob Shrimpton (11-4, 11-6, 11-6),

Chelmsford C were impressive 7-3 winners over Maldon C in division two. They are now tied with Maldon B on 57 points in second place. Waseem Qureshi has hit a rich vein of form and he led the way with a hat-trick of wins. This included a last-gasp 3-2 (7-11, 12-10, 11-7, 8-11, 11-9) win over John Holland.

OCs B stay top but they could only muster two players against Danbury E and had to settle for a 6-4 win. Kevin Worthington won his three singles whilst David Gatheral was on target for the losers with a 3-2 (11-3, 11-8, 9-11, 4-11, 11-9) victory over Trevor Carter.

Danbury D ran out 6-4 winners against Danbury C after Sam Lowman had remained undefeated. Lowman was successful against Neil Want – the best of the Danbury C players – 3-1 (11-8, 11-5, 9-11, 11-6).

The match between Maldon B and Writtle C finished tied at 5-5. No one player dominated and Maldon’s Hamish Innes and Colin Napper and Writtle’s Gary Ward all won twice. Writtle’s John Gagg secured a fine 3-1 (11-9, 11-2, 10-12, 11-6) win over Ciaran Whelan.

It was honours even between OCs C and Hatfield Peverel B as well. Neil Freeman was undefeated for Hatfield Peverel and he completed his trio of wins with a 3-1 (12-10, 11-7, 11-8) success against Frank Hodge. There was little to separate Charles Yeung and Guy McKenzie with Yeung eventually nicking it 3-2 (3-11, 12-10, 10-12, 11-8, 12-10).

Division three leaders OCs G scored their seventh win of the season with a 8-2 victory over Danbury G. Gareth Joice led the way with three wins and Mick Richardson and David Porter provided excellent support with two victories apiece. Peter Hance dented Richardson’s record with a 3-2 (11-2, 12-10, 4-11, 9-11, 11-9) win.

Solid team-work in the shape of two wins for Luca Bailey, Eamon Hall and Allan Steel meant Danbury H beat OCs E 7-3. Richard Baxter was undefeated for OCs E but he had to fight back from 9-5 down in the decider to get the better of Steel. He took the last six points to triumph 3-2 (12-10, 9-11, 3-11, 11-6, 11-9). Nat Ravlic looked to be on his way to a 3-0 win over Hall and he led by two games to nil and by 10-5. Hall found his groove and he came through to win 3-2 (7-11, 14-16, 12-10, 11-9, 11-5).

Maldon D did well to draw 5-5 with Writtle D. Good going as Peter Layzell was undefeated for Writtle. Shirley Carroll beat Colin Barham 3-2 (5-11, 11-6, 7-11, 11-5, 14-12) in the closest game of the evening.

OCs F secured their second win of the season by beating Danbury F 6-4. Ashton Parker was unbeaten for the Old Chelmsfordians side. He pulled clear in the fifth end to defeat Dave Marsh 3-2 (11-9, 10-12, 12-10, 4-11, 11- 3).

Danbury J are looking good in division four and they made it nine straight wins by beating Hatfield Peverel C 7-3. Dave Powell was undefeated although he had to pull out all the stops to get the better of Nick Duce in five (11-7, 11-5, 3-11, 2-11, 13-11).

Chelmsford E (58 points from nine matches) are a clear second and Martin Hiskey was unbeaten in their 6-4 win over Writtle F. Hiskey defeated Ian Hockley 3-1 (7-11, 11-6, 14-12, 13-11) to complete his hat-trick.

OCs G ran out 8-2 winners against Highwood B. John Newman and David Bishop were both undefeated. Bishop fought back strongly from 2-0 down to beat Francis Whitbread 3-2 (10-12, 10- 12, 11-7, 11-7, 11-8). Galleywood B did well to beat the higher placed Chelmsford F 7-3. Colin Blore led the way with a hat-trick and Will Goodchild won twice to support him. Amanda Hogger was the best of the Chelmsford players with two wins.

There was a set-back for second placed Galleywood C in division five. They were beaten 7-3 by Maldon E. Garry Eames and Denis Crapnell were both undefeated. Eames had to work hard for his three wins. He beat Aidan Noguchi 3-2 (11-9, 6-11, 7-11, 11-8, 11-4), Charlie Craig 3-1 (12-10, 8-11, 11-7, 11-4) and he defeated Mark Glenister 3-2 in a real thriller (8-11, 9-11, 11-7, 11-9, 12-10).

Chelmsford G (Ian Austin, Sarah Austin and Andy Swales) ran out 10-0 winners against Hatfield Peverel D. Andy Simmonds came really close against both Sarah Austin (11-7, 11-5, 9-11, 5-11, 9-11) and Ian Austin (11-9, 9-11, 11-6, 7-11, 9-11) but he just missed out on both occasions.

With Luke Richardson and Michael Whelpdale both staying undefeated Chelmsford H, beat Hatfield Peverel E 7-3. Richardson completed his hat-trick with a 3-2 (5-11, 11-4, 7-11, 11-8, 11-4) victory over John Kuhl.

All players are again requested to note that the closing date for entry to the M&G Investments Chelmsford & District Table Tennis League Closed Tournament (which will be held over the weekend of 1, 2 & 3 February 2019), is 14 December 2018.

Entries should be forwarded to Arthur Clark, 2 Top Road, Woodham Walter, Nr. Maldon, Essex, CM9 6RQ with the payment. Electronic entries to [email protected] will also be accepted provided that payment is made to the Leagues Bank Account stated at the bottom of the entry form and the box is ticked. The entry form is in the middle of your handbook.

Please note that it was agreed at the AGM that entries will only be accepted if payment is made by the closing date. Late entries or entries without payment will not be accepted. All players are requested to enter as early as possible.