Runaway leaders Ramsden A are the 2015 Central Essex Summer Table Tennis League first division champions and they captured the title in style by winning all six of their matches and annexing 27 out of a possible 30 points.

Matches five and six were their toughest encounters but they came through safely both times. They beat Rayne 3-2. Babul McCleod won twice for Ramdsen whilst Adam Buxton impressed for Rayne by defeating Charles Sweeney 3-1 (17-15, 3-11, 11-7, 11-6).

They completed their programme by beating second-placed Galleywood A 4-1. Dave Calleja made his mark for the champions with two excellent five-set wins over James Hicks (11-13, 9-11, 11-4, 11-7, 12-10) and John Holland (1-11, 11-9, 11-8, 6- 11, 11-8). Hicks impressed for the Galleywood team by getting the better of Keith Adams 3-1 (11-9, 16-14, 6-11, 11-7).

At the other end of the table, Cold Norton jumped above Ramsden B courtesy of their 5-0 win. Tim Cramphorn and Dick Wyman were both undefeated. Wyman set his team up for what was a convincing victory by defeating Dave Carter 3-2 (11-4, 11-5, 10-12, 9-11, 11-9) in a very well contested opening game of the evening.

Chelmsford A, who won all seven of their matches, are the second division champions. Ramsden C, with five wins, finished second. They overcame Galleywood B 3-2 as Neil Freeman and Gareth Davies both won once but they both missed out to Richard Storey. Freeman pushed Storey to five ends before falling away in the decider to succumb 11-6, 12-10, 8-11, 7-11, 5-11.

OCs finished third but they had to dig deep to beat Galleywood B 3-2. Galleywood surged into a 2-0 lead but OCs fared best in the remaining three encounters. Mick Hayes pulled one back by beating Colin Barham 3-2 (5-11, 13-11, 11-9, 11-13, 11-8) and David Porter levelled the scores by getting the better of Peter Layzell 3-2 (10-12, 11-3, 11-8, 7-11, 11-9). The advantage was now with the OCs side and they wrapped up the victory in the concluding doubles. Porter and Hayes beat Layzell and Barham 11-8, 15-13, 11-8.

Little has gone right for Elmtree this summer and they finished in bottom spot. Their 5-0 defeat against OCs A sums up their season. They did not get hammered in any of the individual encounters although Frank Hodge and Daniel Berry always looked the more likely winners. Berry had to battle hard to keep Rod Maclennan at bay, eventually running out a 3-2 (11-9, 11-8, 3-11, 10-12, 11-5) winner.

Chelmsford C, the division three winners, finished the season in style. Represented by Bob Francis and Jarek Patraszuk they beat Chelmsford B 4-1. Francis won both of his singles encounters, beating Jackie Smith 3-0 (11-7, 12-10, 11-8) and Gordon Fairchild by a last gasp 3-2 (11-7, 11-4, 4-11, 7-11, 11-9) margin.

The Chelmsford B side made no mistake in their final encounter and they defeated South Woodham 5-0. Dave Parker and Gordon Fairchild raced through their four singles without dropping an end.

Danbury D completed their programme by beating the higher-placed Cold Norton B 3-2. It all came down to the deciding doubles and Brian Ellis and Dave Goody came out on top. They beat Dave Hancox and Roy Gandy 3-2 (6-11, 11-8, 11-6, 4-11, 11-9) to seal their side’s victory. South Woodham won a hard-fought match against Buttsbury B 3-2. Scott Perry won twice, beating Alan Tofts and Andrew Pepper both in four ends.

In division four, Buttsbury D, with a record of 24 points out of 30, are the champions. Further down the table Galleywood completed their programme by beating Ramsden D 3-2. David Gatherall won his two singles against Peter Mortensen and Richard Drozd and he paired up with Nathan Blore to beat Drozd and Mortensen 3-1 (11-6, 10-12, 11-7, 11-7) in the deciding doubles.

Ramsden D in turn finished their fixtures with a 5-0 victory over Buttsbury E. Andy Simmonds and Drozd were both undefeated, Drozd beating James Hughes 3-2 (11-7, 11-8, 8-11, 9-11, 11-8) in the closest game of the evening.

Steve Kerns (press & publicity officer)