Black Notley C are the new champions of Division Two of the Braintree Table Tennis League and Felsted RBL C have wrapped up the Division Three title.

Notley C took the points necessary from Liberal C, the only team that could catch them, in a 7-3 victory.

Glen Laing was unbeaten, as he has been all season, and Remy De Lynen made it 15 wins out of 15 since he joined the team.

Felsted C had already clinched the Division Three title when they came up against the only team likely to challenge their unbeaten record.

But Notley E could get no further than 5-5, the same score as in their first encounter.

Helen Barnett made an unexpected appearance for Notley and won once, but two singles from Matthew Laws and Arthur Geen and one from Mike Pitt preserved the record.

Elsewhere in Division Two, Felsted A resumed normal service with Ian Butler back in the team.

He won his three singles to steer them to a 7-3 win over Nomads, becoming only the fourth person to beat Richard Kemp in the process, but it was son Nick who led the team against Hedingham Lions. He was the only one to beat Adam Purslow in their 8-2 win.

Notley B gave Jamie Brooks a taste of Division Two and he obliged with an excellent win over Steve Willis in a further 8-2 defeat for Lions.

Dave Miller was unbeaten in Rayne E’s 7-3 win over their own F team while Adam Clift won his three singles for the first time this season in Notley D’s 8-2 win over Felsted B.

In Division Three, Rayne G moved closer to Notley I in the unrewarded race for third place. They beat Netts D 9-1 – losing only the doubles – while Notley I were held to a draw by their own G team.

The G team only had two players but three wins from Liam Ebbs and two from Paul Martin enabled them to share the points.

Earlier Lawrence Grantham had won his three singles for the first time in his career as Notley G beat Netts D 9-1.

Vernon King was unbeaten in Notley F’s 6-4 win over Rayne H, while Declan Baines was similarly untroubled in Notley H’s 7-3 win over Rayne I.

In Division One, Netts B hindered their A team’s thrust for the title by taking three sets off them and also shared the points with their own C team.

Matthew Brown made a rare appearance for Rayne B and was the only one to beat Roy Hooper in the 8-2 win over Sible Hedingham.

At the league finals night Zara Darcy Willis was given the award as the most promising girl while the boys’ equivalent went to Louis Jenkins. The coaching award was won by Peter Hull.

Peter Hayden was given the Martin Bawden award for service or achievement in recognition of his record-equalling sixth men’s singles victory.