BBAT 1 with Rosemary Ponting

BBAT 1 were crowned the new champions on the Junior Boys British League after an enthralling weekend of table tennis. A run of three wins and two draws in the second weekend left it mathematically impossible for OLOP Impact to catch their rivals and allowed Bbatt to write themselves into the history books. The first shock of the weekend came before a ball had even been played when Bbatt’s star from the first weekend, Sam Mabey, was deemed unavailable due to illness. Yet any potential difficulties did not come in to fruition, with their 3-3 draw with St. Mary’s Prem 4 Sport their only slip up before going up against their only realistic challengers in OLOP. The game ended 3-3, a result that gave OLOP a form of consolation that their efforts had deserved over the season. However, their 5-1 loss to Bbatt in the first weekend proved the difference between the sides as Bbatt never surrendered their lead from that point.

Burton Uxbridge 1 regained the crown of Girls Premier champions after overcoming last year’s champions Wales. The title went down to the wire after Wales beat Uxbridge in the penultimate round 4-2 to take the division to the final game of the season, however Burton showed no nerves as they hammered Northfield girls 6-0 and took the trophy for the second time in three years. It was an exceptional team display as Vicky Smith, Janay Gibson, Isobel Ashley and Emma Torkington overcame all before them, and despite the best efforts of Charlotte Carey and her Welsh outfit they were edged out of retaining the league title.

BATTS A were crowned champions of Boys Division 1 after edging past Wood Green. Despite Wood Green’s 5-1 victory over BATTS in the final round of fixtures their 5-1 defeat to Ormesby proved costly as they fell one point short of their rivals. Jared Patel proved to be the difference between the sides with his 18 victories in as many games giving his side a solid platform to pick results up on a game by game basis.

In what was the most dramatic end in this year’s JBL, Draycott East Midlands Girls were crowned champions of Girls Division 1 after beating Morpeth Greenhouse TTK on sets difference. The two sides had dominated the league throughout the season before they met in the final round of fixtures. Morpeth knew a draw would be enough for them to take the title, however Draycott blew away their rivals in a 5-1 victory, truly justifying their eventual title of champions in the presence, taking the crown by three sets.

A thrilling finale in Division 2A saw Crusaders  crowned champions ahead of Rotherham Scorpions. Both sides went toe to toe from the opening round of fixtures before their final round showdown that would decide the fate of the two sides. However the Scorpions, who were without Abhijay Mishra and Bradley Wood, could not contain their counterpart’s crusade as the Crusaders were 5-1 victors.

Irish Boys were the most comfortable champions of the season as they won Division 2B by an astonishing six points. The Emerald Isle were too good for their rivals as they dropped just one point all season.

Ulster were the victors in Girls Division 3 after winning all seven of their matches. Their victory over Draycott Speedwell was the deciding factor after they won their other sixmatches.

Congratulations are also in order to Greenhouse Ernest Bevin, UCD Dublin, Fusion and Pompey who all won their respective divisions.

Matthew Shaw
British League Press & Publicity Team