

Liberal A dominate the Braintree Table Tennis League

Author: Paul Stimpson

Posted On: June 13, 2017

The dominance of Liberal A in this year's Braintree Table Tennis League is reflected in this season's individual averages in which their four main players all finished in the top eight.

Men's singles champion Brandon Crouchman leads the way with only one defeat in his 56 sets, with Peter Hayden in third place, Scott Dowsett up seven places since last year in sixth and Simon Webber up one in eighth.

Paul Davison, second, and Andy Holmes, fourth, have held on to their places after Steve Kerns, top last year, did not play this season.

Ken Lewis, second last year, enjoyed an unbeaten season in division two. The closest he came to defeat was when Dave Miller took him to 11-9 in the fifth game.

Jon Fieldsend moves up seven places to second and Dave Marsh is up one to third.

Curiously Miller is the only player from division champions Rayne E in the top ten, compared with three players from Liberal C, who finished third.

Derek Kennard, returning to the game after a lengthy absence, also finished with 100 per cent in division three. He won all but seven of his sets in straight games and was stretched to five only by Paul Martin and Jill Canning.

Division winners Netts C have all three of their players, Max Plumridge, Joe Belsom and Kierlan Richards, in the top ten.

Final averages (qualification one-third of team's matches) were:

Division 1 (last season's position in brackets): 1 (-) Brandon Crouchman 55 wins in 56 sets, average 98.2; 2 (2) Paul Davison 63-67, 94.0; 3 (3) Peter Hayden 24-27, 88.9; 4 (4) Andy Holmes 40-47, 85.1; 5 (-) Alan Burgess

26-32, 81.3; 6 (13) Scott Dowsett 57-71, 80.3; 7 (6) James Hicks 39-50, 78.0; 8 (9) Simon Webber 45-59, 76.3; 9 (10) Steve Pennell 56-76, 73.7; 10 (7) Adam Buxton 42-58, 72.4; 11 (17) Hector Rogers 44-64, 67.1; 12 (-) Maria Boulton 26-39, 66.7; 13 (20) Adrian Pitt 46-70, 65.7; 14 (11) Ian Whiteside 27-43, 62.8; 15 (-) Andrew Huckson 27-47, 57.5; 16 (-) Matthew Brown 24-43, 55.8; 17 (12) Ryan Pitt 28-52, 53.9; 18 (19) Steve Buer 26-50, 52.0; 19 (-) Peter Hance 25-50, 50.0; 20 (-) James Mullane 36-75, 48.0.

Division 2: 1 Ken Lewis 33–33, 100; 2 Jon Fieldsend 34–39, 87.2; 3 Dave Marsh 47–56, 83.9; 4 Gareth Davies 22–27, 81.5; 5 Garry Fryatt 55–69, 79.7; 6 Dave Moles 33–42, 78.6; 7 Dave Miller 48–63, 76.2; 8 Gordon Fairchild 56–76, 73.7; 9 Sean Clift 54–75, 72.0; 10 Matthew Laws 57–80, 71.3.

Division 3: 1 Derek Kennard 36–36, 100; 2 Joe Meleschko 41–43, 95.3; 3 Brian How 42–46, 91.3; 4 Max Plumridge 55–65, 84.6; 5 Jamie Brooks 63–76, 82.9; 6 Joe Belsom 54–68, 79.4; 7 Leon Hewitt 51–65, 78.5; 8 Liam Ebbs 58–74, 78.4; 9 Kierlan Richards 54–71, 76.1; 10 Paul Martin 38–56, 67.9.

Netts secretary and five-times men's singles winner Paul Davison has been given the 2017 Corti Woodcock Award by Essex Table Tennis Association in recognition of his work for the sport.

Davison, 40, who in April became the first person to win the Braintree cadets', junior boys', men's and veterans' singles, has been coaching since he was 15 and in 2000 was named young coach of the year by the English Table Tennis Association. In 2005 he won the Braintree League's Martin Bawden Award for service or achievement.

Downloaded From:

https://newsarchive.tabletennisengland.co.uk/news/local-news/south-east/liberal-a-dominate-the-braintree -table-tennis-league/