

Congratulations to our champion volunteers

Author: Paul Stimpson Posted On: January 18, 2017

More than 200 volunteers have been nominated for the Pride of Table Tennis Regional Awards.

Nominations were made for the following four categories:

- Regional Volunteer of the Year
- Regional Young Volunteer of the Year
- Regional Contribution to Table Tennis Award
- Regional Coach of the Year.

The regional winners were chosen by panels of volunteers selected by each regional committee.

Winners have been informed by their Regional Committee and have been presented, or will be presented, with their certificate and trophy in the next couple of weeks. So far, North East have presented their awards at the North East Club and Volunteer Conference and North West presented theirs at the Senior British League match at Halton.

All regional winners have now been put forward into the National Awards nominations, alongside other nominees for the Club of the Year, Technical Official of the Year and the Inclusivity Award. The National Panel has recently met and decided on the shortlisted finalists, who will be informed in the next couple of days.

Table Tennis England Chief Executive Sara Sutcliffe said: "Volunteers are the heartbeat of our sport and we can't thank them enough for their passion, dedication and commitment to getting people from all backgrounds and abilities playing table tennis.

"We are delighted to recognise and honour all the winners and indeed all our volunteers."

Regional Volunteer of the Year 2016

Yorkshire – Paul Simpson North East – Steve Dickinson North West – Dennis Artess West Midlands – Nigel Anson East – Neil Brierley East Midlands – Ken Eliot London – Angus Warren South West – Tony Halse South East – Barbara Bayford South – Malcolm Makarian

Regional Young Volunteer of the Year 2016

North East – Amy Webster North West – Jordan Abbott West Midlands – Gemma Mckay East – Adam Pitt East Midlands – Liam McTiernan London – Ryszard Pelc South West – Finn Morgan Bayliss South – Naomi Hayes

Regional Coach of the Year 2016

Yorkshire – Ashley Hodgson North East – Steve Brunskill North West – Graham Coupe West Midlands – Edward Lynn East – Mark Dare East Midlands – Darran Leete London – Daniel Basterfield South West – Eddie Roofe South East – Trevor Towers South – Ken Phillips

Regional Contribution to Table Tennis Award 2016

Yorkshire – Rob Loxley North East – Alan Hedley North West – Ken Bennett West Midlands- John Blackband

- East- Ken Field
- East Midlands- David Maddison
- London- Harold Webb
- South West Gordon White
- South East Roger Gillett
- South Brian Hall

Downloaded From:

https://newsarchive.tabletennisengland.co.uk/news/featured-news/congratulations-to-our-champion-volunt eers/