

Braintree League: Liberal party as they regain title

Author: Paul Stimpson Posted On: May 23, 2016

Liberal A have regained the Braintree Table Tennis League title that they lost to Netts A by the narrowest of margins last year.

The two teams finished level on points in 2015 with Netts taking the title because they had won more matches.

This time they were paired up in the final match of the season when Liberal needed only to avoid a 10-0 or 9-1 defeat to claim the title.

And the two sets they needed duly arrived straight away. Simon Webber set the tone with an excellent win over Paul Davison, beaten only once before – by Brandon Crouchman – all season.

Peter Hayden then overcame James Mullane and the title returned to Liberal after a year's absence.

Davison went on to taste defeat for a second time, at Hayden's hands, to mark the first time since November 2011 that he has lost twice in an evening (Hayden and Steve Northcott that time). Hayden won his three singles as Liberal ran out 6-4 winners.

In **Division Two,** runners-up Liberal C finished with a flourish, 10-0 wins over Felsted's A and B teams and 8-2 against third-placed Rayne E. Gareth Davies and Garry Fryatt both won eight out of nine.

Fourth-placed Black Notley B beat Felsted A 9-1 in a match notable for a win for Matthew Laws, playing up from division three, over Sean Clift.

Division winners Notley C finished their programme with an 8-2 win over Nomads while Rayne F beat Hedingham Lions by the same score, with Ted Sims undefeated.

Division Three champions Felsted C ended the season unbeaten, the only team in the league to do so, after an

8-2 win over Rayne H. Shirley Carroll won twice for Rayne but could not get the better of Laws.

Runners-up Notley E's ended their injury-hit season by turning out a two-man team, both reserves, and losing 7-3 to Netts D.

Liam Ebbs, who won the three for Notley E, did the same for the G team in their 8-2 win over Rayne I.

Notley I, perhaps the division's surprise package of the season, held on to third place despite a final 6-4 defeat by Rayne G, who finish one place below them. Notley I also beat Rayne I 9-1.

Notley F finished with wins of 8-2 over Notley H and 7-3 over Rayne H. Leon Hewitt was unbeaten in both.

And in the final rearranged match of the season, Rayne's G and H teams shared the points. Tim Gowers took his three singles and the doubles for the G team.

Downloaded From:

https://newsarchive.tabletennisengland.co.uk/news/archived/braintree-league-liberal-party-as-they-regain-title/