Award presentations illuminate Clacton League AGM

Author: Paul Stimpson Posted On: June 06, 2014

×

Colin Webber and Gill Locke (Nomad Panthers) collect league title

League trophies for the 2013/14 season were presented at the League's Annual General Meeting held at the Brotherhood Hall, Clacton-on-Sea.

The Nomads Panthers team of James Denyer, Gill Locke and Colin Webber retained their Division One title, winning by over thirty points. Walton A's Peter Burrows, Colin Dearman and John Rice were runners-up, just a point in front of third-placed Brotherhood A.

Windsor Kestrels' quartet of Graham Bunce, Dave Martin, Alan Rutledge and Bob Sawyer were clear winners of Division Two ahead of club-mates Windsor Ravens, led by Gary Stallwood and including three veteran players, John Harvey, John Long and Brian Thiel.



Graham Bunce, Dave Martin, Alan Rutledge (Windsor Kestrels)

Gary Bayliss, Rodney Betts, Duncan Dunne and Tony Edmonds of Brotherhood E took the Division Three title, and were also the only team in the League to top two hundred points in the season.

Brotherhood H were runners-up after a neck-and-neck battle with their 'G' team, Brian Baines, Gerald Batt, Graham Parkes and David Wilkin securing second place by a single point.

The Brian Hogg Trophy, awarded annually to a junior player of whom the League is proud, was made to Sam Hume.



Sheila Howe (League President) with Sam Hume (Brian Hogg Trophy Winner)

Sam has made a significant impression since joining the League, progressing from Division Three to Division One in three seasons and averaging over sixty per cent in each of those three years. An Essex Schools' Champion, Sam has also represented Essex Juniors.

But, just as important as his ability is Sam's effervescent and enthusiastic personality, always polite, always cheerful and always ready to help.

Officers elected for the 2014/15 season were: President, Sheila Howe; Chairman, Peter White; Vice-Chairman, Graham Parkes; Secretary, Lynn White; Treasurer, Mike Hillier; Press and Records Secretary, Tony Oswick; Tournament Officer, David Wilkin; Development Officer, Ferdy Rodriguez; Coaching Officer, Felipe Rodriguez; Minutes Secretary, Debra Found; Committee members, Lee Harvey, Doug Green, Tony Hooper, Tony Rayner, (one vacancy).

Annabelle Rodriguez stood down as League Secretary after eight years in the post. Chairman Peter White paid tribute to the excellent work Annabelle had done during her time as Secretary, particularly in ensuring the ETTA player registration system had been introduced efficiently.



Rodney Betts, Gary Bayliss, Duncan Dunne, Tony Edmonds made up the successful Brotherhood E team

In his Tournament Officer's report, David Wilkin paid special thanks to Tony Hooper for taking over as Referee of the Closed Championships at short notice. He also expressed the League's gratitude to Paul Newbould for his continued overall sponsorship of the Championships, and to the individual sponsors, Angela Barratt, Ken Green and John Houghton.

Treasurer Mike Hillier reported on a satisfactory financial year and recommended no increase in the team fees of £35.

It was agreed that next season the League will run four teams in the Essex Inter-League – Mens (Secretary Felipe Rodriguez), Veterans (Colin Webber), Super-Veterans (Colin Beaumont) and Juniors (Ferdy Rodriguez).

* The League's 'Come and Try' table tennis taster sessions continue this Friday, and every Friday in June, at 7.30 pm at the URC Hall, Carnarvon Road, Clacton-on-Sea. For details, contact Ferdy Rodriguez (Tel: 01255 221259).

Downloaded From:

https://newsarchive.tabletennisengland.co.uk/news/archived/award-presentations-illuminate-clacton-league-agm/