MKDTTL Closed Championships Report

Author: Paul Stimpson

Posted On: March 06, 2012

×

The Milton Keynes & District Table Tennis League held its annual Closed Championships on Sunday 19th February at the Kingston Table Tennis Centre.

A total of 32 players participated in the various events. With a maximum entry fee of only £12, there was every incentive for players to enter as many events as possible.

The opening event was the main Championship Singles competition. There were no surprises in the group phase but in the last 16, Colin Munford from Division Two beat Peter Bannister of the Premier Division, before losing to another Premier player in the quarter-final.

The semi-finals were contested by the top four seeds on the day, producing a final between last year's runner–up Dinil Polouse (Greenleys) and Craig Brown (MK), who took the honours at the November Handicap Singles & Hard Bat tournament. The final will be played at the League's presentation evening in May

Neil Riddy (MK) marked his return to the League after an eight year absence by joining up with Dave Murphy (Respect) in the Championship Doubles to beat Dinil Polouse and Phil Aspinall 3-2 (11-7, 8-11, 8-11, 11-7, 11-6).

Neil Riddy also joined up with Audrey Robinson in the mixed doubles, where they will play Craig Brown and Julie Snowdon, all of the MK Club, in the second final at the Presentation Evening.

Audrey Robinson also enjoyed individual success, beating Julie Snowdon 3-2 (3-11, 13-11, 9-11, 11-9, 11-9) in an entertaining Women's Veterans final. Audrey and Julie then teamed up to win the Women's Doubles, beating Tanya Brown and Nitha Dinil. Julie Snowdon also won the Women's Singles event, beating Nitha Dinil.

In the Veterans Men's event, for which most of the attendees qualified, last year's winner Dave Murphy beat the 2010 winner Gary Webb (Greenleys).

The over 60's competition, Derek Willis (St.Christopher's) beat the 2009 winner Dave Wackrill (MK) in a hard-fought and lengthy final belying their years, 3-2 (11-6, 4-11, 11-6, 6-11, 11-6).

The Restricted Doubles event, only open to players from Division Three and below, was won by Tom Tofield and Sam Willett (MK) who beat the 2009 and 2010 winners of this event, Bernard Green and Andy Jenkins (MK).

The very enjoyable day's table tennis was organised by Madeline Baxter, the League's Tournament Secretary.

Downloaded From:

https://newsarchive.tabletennisengland.co.uk/news/archived/mkdttl-closed-championships-report/