

# England pathway squads announced

**Author: Paul Stimpson** 

Posted On: December 23, 2020

An expanded Junior Training Group has been announced alongside new Hopes and Aspire squads after the latest England performance pathway assessments.

The assessments were carried out this month by the performance coaches, having been delayed earlier in the season because of the pandemic.

Due to the lack of international competition and uncertainty of when it will resume, no formal England Junior Squad has been selected, however a wider Junior Training Group has been identified, with players selected to attend training camps determined on a camp-by-camp basis, and based on the commitment the players show during and in between training camps.

This will continue until such time as international competition has resumed for six months and a new England Junior Squad will then be selected in line with a new selection policy.

Among the expanded group is Mari Baldwin, surprise finalist in the women's singles at the Mark Bates Ltd National Championships at the start of March, before the first lockdown.

Also included are Toby Ellis, Connor Green, Erin Green, Anaya Patel, Millie Rogove and Max Stevens. Ellis and Connor Green step up from the Aspire squad.

The six members of the England Junior Squad selected last season – Rhys Davies, Ben Piggott, Thomas Rayner, Peter Smallcombe, Felix Thomis and Jasmin Wong – remain in the training group, taking the number involved to 13.

A number of players move up to the Aspire squad from the Hopes ranks, taking the total number in Aspire to 18. Those stepping up are Krish Chotai, Kacper Piwowar and Nathaniel Saunders. New to the squad are Scarlett Anders, Lauren Loosemore, Rebecca Savage and Harry Yip.

The Hopes squad has been amalgamated into one group and some previous members are now too old for this

section of the squad or have decided to step out of the group.

Following the recent assessments, Harry Randall has been added to the squad, which numbers 18 players in total.

A handful of other players, whilst not selected initially after the recent assessments, will be invited in to attend a national training camp for further observation in the coming months.

Programme Manager Matt Stanforth said: "We again saw a high number of new, as well as current squad players apply to be part of the national training squads again.

"What was clear to see is that the standard overall for each of the groups is getting stronger, which is brilliant to see, however there is still much further that we want to go.

"The last year has been incredibly challenging for everyone, and to see what the players have been able to do despite the restrictions has been incredible. The team look forward to working with the players over the next 6-7 months."

#### The squads are as follows:

#### **Hopes**

Ojasvii Borah (Crusaders TTC, coached by Goran Maric); Louis Cheung-Turner (Halton, Andrew Rushton); Naomi Coker (Draycott & Long Eaton, Phil Vickers); Joseph Dennison (Grantham College, Vidal Graham); Ben Dunkley (Revolution, John Alsop); Christopher Ho (Lillington Free Church, Chris Mulligan); Sienna Jetha (London Academy, Bhavin Savjani); Fred Jones (Draycott & Long Eaton, Phil Vickers); Mia Longman (Scarborough, Martin Lowe); Brooke Morris (Halton, Lindsey Thornton); Daniyal Palmer (Greenhouse, Daniel Basterfield); Max Radiven (Urban, Gergely Urban); Harry Randall (Kingfisher, Ajay Naik); Abraham Sellado (Halifax, Alan Dickenson); Aarav Shah (Urban, Gergely Urban); Janak Shah (London Academy, Bhavin Savjani); Tom Wardell (Ormesby, Carole Moore); Kate Watkinson (Garstang, Graham Coupe)

## **Aspire**

Scarlett Anders (Urban, Gergely Urban); Francesco Bonato (Fox Primary School Federation, Natasha Moura); Krish Chotai (Graham Spicer, Terry Bailey); Joseph Cooper (Draycott & Long Eaton, Phil Vickers); Adam Dennison (Grantham College, Vidal Graham); Anna Green (Draycott & Long Eaton, Phil Vickers); James Hamblett (Urban, Gergely Urban); Jake Haygarth (Grantham College, Vidal Graham); Joseph Hunter (Urban, Gergely Urban); Megan Jones (Woodfield, Helen Lower); Lauren Loosemore (Okehampton, Craig Bryant); Amy Marriott (Nottingham Sycamore, Chris Turner); Charlie Nabarro (Urban, Gergely Urban); Jakub Piwowar (Torbay, Kris & Jo Piwowar); Nathaniel Saunders (Nishkim, Ed Lynn); Rebecca Savage (Ormesby, Alan Ransome); Harry Yip (Horsham, Marc Burman)

# **Junior Training Group**

Mari Baldwin (Joola Plymouth, Craig Bryant); Rhys Davies (Formby, Mark Davies); Toby Ellis (Draycott & Long Eaton, Paul Graham); Connor Green (Draycott & Long Eaton, Phil Vickers); Erin Green (Draycott & Long Eaton, Phil Vickers); Anaya Patel (Kingfisher, Ajay Naik); Ben Piggott (Ormesby, Carole Moore); Thomas Rayner (Ormesby, Denis Neale); Millie Rogove (Urban, Eva Toth); Peter Smallcombe (Imagine, Dave Godbold); Max Stevens (Grantham College, Vidal Graham); Felix Thomis (Ackworth, Eli Baraty); Jasmin Wong (Archway Peterborough, Gareth Herbert)

## **Downloaded From:**

https://newsarchive.tabletennisengland.co.uk/news/archived/england-pathway-squads-announced/