

Fees for next season to remain unchanged

Author: Paul Stimpson
Posted On: July 01, 2019

Table Tennis England membership fees will remain unchanged for the 2019/20 season after a proposal to reduce them was rejected at the AGM, with 75% of Company Members voting against it.

Player Membership will cost £16 for Seniors and £8 for Cadets or Juniors and the Player Licence will cost £38 for adults and £19 for juniors and cadets. Associate Membership will continue to be free of charge.

Approval of the freeze in fees for next season followed an emphatic rejection of a proposal to reduce the fees to £9 for Senior members and £4.50 for Cadets and Juniors and pay the difference direct to Table Tennis 365.

Just under 75% of Company Members voted against that proposal and instead supported the Board's proposal to leave fees at the current level.

Table Tennis England Chairman Sandra Deaton said: "I would like to thank the membership for their continued support of the Board and of the work done by Table Tennis England.

"The affiliation fees paid by our members enable us to fund a huge amount of work at grassroots level as well as unlocking other funds from Sport England.

"We are heartened that the majority of our members appreciate that they are part of a bigger picture and wish to support the whole sport – we will continue to work hard to deliver projects which enable people of all ages and abilities to enjoy and achieve in our sport."

Click here to read more about the work that membership fees help to fund

Online membership renewal will be live on our website from July 16th. Telephone renewals open on August 1st.

Full details of how to join Table Tennis England for the 2019/20 season, plus the raft of membership benefits on offer, will be published next week.

The three Elected Deputy Chairmen – Tony Catt, Charlie Childs and Susie Hughes – formally took up their positions at the AGM.

The AGM also approved the Financial Statements and included the Honours presentations as follows:

- Honorary Life Member: Sandra Deaton
- Vice-Presidents: Andrea Holt, Susie Hughes, Chris Newton, Shirley Pickering, Barry Snowden, Margaret Welch,
 Caroline Williams, Colin Wilson
- Keith Ponting President's Memorial Award: Mike Smith
- Malcolm Scott Award: Mike Atkinson
- Leslie Forrest Memorial Award: Karen Smith
- Ivor Montagu Award: Phil Ashleigh & Neil Hurford
- AK Vint OBE Staff Award: Julie Snowdon & Chris Turner
- Victor Barna Award: Ross Wilson
- Johnny Leach MBE Most Improved England Player of the Year Award: Liam Pitchford
- The following Vice-Presidents were re-elected for 2019-22: John Arnold MBE, John Blackband, Paul Day, Ken Eliot, Dave Evans, Ken Field, Margot Fraser, Stuart Gibbs, Barry Granger, Diccon Gray, Gerald Gurney, Brenda Hudson, Richard J Hudson, Martin Ireland, Diana Jermyn, Malcolm Macfarlane, Ian Marshall, Ken Muhr, Len Pilfold, Rosemary Ponting, Derek Schofield, Eileen Shaler. Robert Sinclair, Mick Strode, Geoff Taylor, George Tyler

Three retiring members of the Table Tennis England Board were – Andrew Nixon, Mike Smith and Keith Thomas – were thanked for their contributions over the years. Mike received a special presentation, while Andrew and Keith were unable to attend and will receive their awards at a later date.

Richard and Brenda Hudson also received a special presentation thanking them for their contribution to the Junior British League, having stood down as organisers this season.

Click here to read more about those honoured

Downloaded From:

https://newsarchive.tabletennisengland.co.uk/news/archived/fees-for-next-season-to-remain-unchanged/