

Shortlist revealed for Pride of Table Tennis Awards

Author: Paul Stimpson

Posted On: March 26, 2019

The countdown is on to the unveiling of this year's Pride of Table Tennis Award winners!

Pride of Table Tennis recognises the amazing commitment to our sport given by unsung heroes in so many areas, from coaching and inclusivity to officiating and volunteering.

It is also our chance to say thanks to those partners, clubs and leagues who help to promote our sport and make it easier for people to enjoy and achieve in table tennis.

This year's national award winners will be revealed at the National Pride of Table Tennis Awards dinner on Saturday night, during the National Club, Volunteer and Coach Conference in Leicester.

Greg Yarnall, Head of Development and Volunteering at Table Tennis England, was part of the national judging panel and said: "Once again, we had an exceptional standard of nominations, which showed just how indebted we are to volunteers in all areas of the sport and in all geographical areas.

"I'm really looking forward to celebrating the volunteers who are at the heart of our sport – and of course announcing the winners – at the awards dinner on Saturday."

The national judging panel have released the shortlisted names in each category as follows:

Contribution to Table Tennis Award, sponsored by Jockey Club Services Nominees: Don Evans, Peter White

Volunteer of the Year, sponsored by Sport:80 Nominees: Anne Borrowdale, Derek Connop

Young Volunteer of the Year

Nominees: Jordan Abbott, Ben Kelly

Club of the Year Nominees: Goodwin TTC, Portishead TTC, Waterside TTC

Coach of the Year, sponsored by Sportscover Nominees: Graham Coupe, John Dennison

Technical Official of the Year Nominees: Nico Caltabiano, Jim Kenny

League of the Year Nominees: Liverpool & District TTL, Weymouth & District TTL

Inclusivity Award Nominees: Hassan Ahmadi, Jade Horsley

Partner of the Year Nominees: Castle Mall Shopping Centre, The Jack Petchey Foundation, Jones Lang LaSalle

Ping! Personality of the Year Nominees: Derek Seager, Anna Wilding

In addition to the national awards, Pride of Table Tennis recognises volunteers at a regional level. This year's regional winners, who were also all considered for the national awards, are:

North West

Club of the Year: Stockport Table Tennis Academy Volunteer of the Year: Chris Garvin Young Volunteer of the Year: Jordan Abbott Contribution to TT: Robert Gale Coach of the Year: Graham Coupe

North East

Club of the Year: Bishop Auckland Table Tennis Club Volunteer of the Year: Giulio Pontone Young Volunteer of the Year: Ben Kelly Coach of the Year: Ben Kelly

Yorkshire

Club of the Year: Goodwin Table Tennis Club Volunteer of the Year: Judith Silberberg

East Midlands

Club of the Year: Cliffedale Chandlers Table Tennis Club Volunteer of the Year: Dave Silvester Young Volunteer of the Year: Adam Harrison Contribution to TT: Kelly Sibley Coach of the Year: Shirley Pickering

East

Volunteer of the Year: Doug Randall Young Volunteer of the Year: Jade Horsley Contribution to TT: Peter White Coach of the Year: John Alsop

West Midlands

Volunteer of the Year: Rob Whittaker Contribution to TT: Don Evans

London

Volunteer of the Year: Sanket Shah Coach of the Year: John Dennison

South West

Club of the Year: Portishead Table Tennis Club Volunteer of the Year: Derek Connop Young Volunteer of the Year: Sam O'Toole Contribution to TT: Andy Millar Coach of the Year: Nick Davidson

South

Club of the Year: Waterside Table Tennis Club Volunteer of the Year: Anne Borrowdale Contribution to TT: Colin French

South East

Volunteer of the Year: Mark Roper Contribution to TT: David Steel Coach of the Year: Caroline Hanson

Downloaded From:

https://newsarchive.tabletennisengland.co.uk/news/archived/shortlist-revealed-for-pride-of-table-tennis-aw ards/