

England squad named for Schools' International

Author: Paul Stimpson Posted On: June 08, 2018

Four schools' individual champions have been named in the England squad for the Butterfly Schools' Invitation International championships.

Sam Wilson, Ben Hee, Patricia Ianau and Sandy Choong are part of a 26-strong line-up selected by English Schools' Table Tennis for the event at Worcester Arena.

They will face teams from Guernsey, Ireland, Isle of Man, Jersey, Scotland and Wales across three age groups.

The four champions all won their age groups at the Butterfly Schools' Individual Championships in Wolverhampton in April.

The host association rotates through the nations involved, meaning England are staging the event for the first time since 2011. It takes place from June 22-24.

The full England squad is:

Head of Delegation: Steve Burge Senior Under-18 Boys Josh Bennett, Bexhill College (East Sussex) Gaurav Aravind, Harefield Academy (London West) Joseph Cope, Manor Community Academy, Hartlepool (Cleveland) Sam Wilson, Morthyng College, Corby (Northamptonshire) Israel Awolaja, Grantham College (Lincolnshire) Max Stevens, Carlton le Willows Academy (Nottinghamshire) Non-Playing Captain (NPC): Dave Pilkington

Senior Under-18 Girls Natalia Ianau, London Academy (London North) Naomi Lau, Ackworth School (West Yorkshire) Amy Blagborough, Queen Mary's College Basingstoke Hampshire Rachael Scott, West Kirby Grammar School (Merseyside) NPC: Kate Hughes

Intermediate Under-16 Boys

Naphat Boonyaprapa, George Spencer Academy, Nottingham (Nottinghamshire) Amirul Hussain, Ackworth School (West Yorkshire) Sam Chesterman, Ackworth School (West Yorkshire) Thomas Rayner, Longfield School, Darlington (Durham) NPC: Michael Moir

Intermediate Under-16 Girls

Patricia Ianau, London Academy (London North) Katie Holt, Bournemouth School for Girls (Dorset) Gemma Kerr, Plymouth College (Devon) Alice Dillon, Lancaster School for Girls (Lancashire) NPC: Helen Lower

Cadet Under-14 Boys

Ben Hee, City of London School (London East) Naphong Boonyaprapa, George Spencer Academy, Nottingham (Nottinghamshire) Ryan Choong, Woodhey High School, Ramsbottom (Greater Manchester) Ben Piggott, Egglescliffe School, Stockton on Tees (Cleveland) NPC: Steve Lyons

Cadet Under-14 Girls

Mari Baldwin, Okehampton College (Devon) Sandy Choong, Woodhey High School, Ramsbottom (Greater Manchester) Raquel Sao Pedro, Charles Read Academy, Corby Glen (Lincolnshire) Erin Green, George Spencer Academy, Nottingham (Nottinghamshire) NPC: Cherith Graham

Downloaded From:

https://newsarchive.tabletennisengland.co.uk/news/archived/england-squad-named-for-schools-internatio nal/