

Braintree League: Title win sparks Liberal party

Author: Paul Stimpson Posted On: May 17, 2018

After their hiccup the previous week, Liberal A wrapped up the Braintree Table Tennis League championship in style.

They followed their shock 9-1 defeat by Netts A by beating Netts' B team by the same score, and that was enough to put them out of reach in the title race.

James Hicks beat Simon Webber and although Scott Dowsett was stretched to 11-9 in the fifth game to get past Chris Buer, the remainder was fairly plain sailing.

 $Brandon\ Crouchman\ was\ particularly\ punishing,\ winning\ all\ his\ singles\ in\ three\ straight\ games.$

In an earlier match, Liberal A had beaten their own B team 8-2. Crouchman was again unbeaten but there were five-game wins for Andrew Huckson over Dowsett and Adrian Pitt over Webber.

Rayne A, already assured of the runners-up berth, had a win of the same proportions over Netts C. Steve Pennell and Adam Buxton were unbeaten.

Liberal B finished with a 10-0 win over Rayne D and Rayne C also finished on a high with a 6-4 win over Black Notley A's strongest team. Lee McHugh's three singles included a rare defeat for Lucy Wang.

Rayne B and Netts B had a constantly undulating match that finally ended with the sides level. Matthew Brown beat Colin Bennett, who beat Jon Hill, who beat Steve Buer, who beat Brown. In other words, everyone won at least one and lost at least one.

Downloaded From:

https://newsarchive.tabletennisengland.co.uk/news/local-news/braintree-league-title-win-sparks-liberal-party/